Graphic Novel Review: Mer by Joelle Sellner

merMer
by Joelle Sellner

Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis:

Twilight meets the legend of Atlantis in this gripping graphic novel from writer Joelle Sellner and artist Abby Boeh. After the death of her beloved mother, Aryn’s father has moved her family to a new town hoping for a fresh start. At first, things seem to be going well—Aryn is making friends and has even caught the eye of one of the hottest guys in school. But there are dark forces moving under the surface that Aryn cannot see; her new crush may not be … human.

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

I really enjoyed all aspects of this graphic novel. The artwork was bright and colorful which made each character really come to life. Some difficult topics are touched on through back story through Aryn’s mothers demise. It made it easier to connect with her on an emotional level, especially when she had trouble making friends at school. I was less than impressed with the Dad. I get a bit tired of the cliche parents who don’t seem to know how or even desire to listen to their teenage children. I disliked greatly how he forced both of his daughters into working for him without regard to how it would impact them. He also didn’t really give much explanation or empathy for quite a while. On an entirely different note I’ve no idea how I feel about the romance in this story.

On an entirely different note, I’ve no idea how I feel about the romance in this story. In some ways, I really enjoyed it because it was intense and easy to get into. It was also insta love at it’s finest and didn’t really hold any depth. The lack of any true personal connection took away from the impact of the ending. I had issues with the ending besides that but it was cute enough.

Overall, it’s an adorable story though a little cliche in some respects. I still recommend it because it’s fun. The artwork really lends itself to the story and would be great inspiration for any artist.

Thank you to Diamond Comic Distributors for providing me with a galley of this graphic novel in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

