Review: I See You by Clare Mackintosh

I See You
by Clare Mackintosh

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Source: ARC from NetGalleyBerkley Publishing Group

Synopsis:

You do the same thing every day.

You know exactly where you’re going.

You’re not alone.

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it’s there. There’s no explanation: just a website, a grainy image, and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it’s just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.

Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make.

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

It took me a long time to get into this story for a few different reasons. First, the story progresses by going through alternating perspectives. In the first few chapters, this was more confusing than helpful. It’s not clear how the two separate story lines have anything to do with each other at first. It also didn’t help that I had trouble connecting with the characters. This was especially true with Zoe Walker who annoyed me greatly. I felt for her circumstances but found myself growing frustrated not only with her thought process but also many of her behaviors. I hated the way she treated her family and live in boyfriend.

I connected a little more with Kelly but found myself actually growing angry with her based on her interactions with her twin sister. While her personality is vastly different from Zoe’s, she also made a series of decisions that were frustrating. What I found even more irritating was how little repercussion she seemed to really have based on these poor decisions. As an example, she chooses to disclose certain information at a critical point in the investigation which is in direct opposition to a direct order from the lead detective on the case. Sure, she’s lectured, but it comes off more as a slap on the wrist and nothing else really comes of it. It’s not that it isn’t possible but it wasn’t the only example of her sort of ‘getting away’ with doing her own thing.

As you can tell I had a lot of issues with the story but somehow they all seemed to evaporate once I got into the last fourth of the book. I went from being sort of annoyed with the characters to being glued to the pages, devouring the final few chapters. I had a few ideas of who ‘the bad guy’ could be but then was really surprised. I was able to guess a few of the other details and twists but was still left in shock with the final chapter. The story does wrap up but the end has a wide opening that leaves plenty of room for a possible sequel.

Overall, a decent mystery with a dash of thriller and suspense there at the end. While this book didn’t bother me all that much, I have to mention that it does include themes surrounding sexual assault, murder, and other victimization of women. None of these are portrayed graphically in any way but if you are sensitive to these topics you might want to take caution with this title.

Leave a Reply

