Review: These Ruthless Deeds by Tarun Shanker, Kelly Zekas

These Ruthless Deeds
by Tarun Shanker, Kelly Zekas

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Source: Digital ARC from Netgalley

Synopsis:

England, 1883. Still recovering from a devastating loss, Evelyn is determined to use her powers to save other gifted people from those who would harm them. But when her rescue of a young telekinetic girl goes terribly wrong, Evelyn finds herself indebted to a secret society devoted to recruiting and protecting people like Evelyn and her friends.

As she follows the Society’s orders, healing the sick and embarking on perilous recruitment missions, Evelyn sees her problems disappear. Her reputation is repaired, her friends are provided for, and her parents are newly wealthy. She reunites with the dashing Mr. Kent and recovers the reclusive Mr. Braddock (who has much less to brood over now that the Society can help him to control his dangerous power). But Evelyn can’t help fearing the Society is more sinister than it appears…

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I was eager to read this book after having finished the first in the series. I was instantly swept up in the continuing story along with Evelyn and her new friends. She still drove me crazy on a number of occasions but I also was able to appreciate seeing her grow as a person. Much like the first book I’m still on the fence about the strange love triangle that is going on. I don’t know which guy to pick. I adore Mr. Braddock but find his behavior, while understandable, extremely irritating. I’m quite tired of him running away repeatedly. This is a big draw for me to Mr. Kent, that said it doesn’t seem that Evelyn is as ‘in love’ (lust?) with him. She has an almost insta-love type attraction for one and a longer and deeper friendship with the other. Sadly, this book doesn’t really give us any solutions to the romantic side of the story. Thankfully, though it is a feature that impacts the ongoing drama, it’s hardly a key feature.

Aside from the side romance, this book really shocked me. There are a number of twists that I had absolutely no clue were coming and left with me a dropped jaw. I’m still reeling after the events toward the end. It’s hard to talk about without giving away spoilers but it had me gasping. I may have even shouted at one point because I was so floored. I went through an entire range of emotions and still am a few days after setting the book down. It’s not a cliff hanger ending but it is open and rather painful. This is only more so by the fact that the third book doesn’t even have a title listed on Goodreads or a more specific release date beyond sometime in 2018.

I’m mixed on recommending this. I’m really enjoying the series but if you are anything like me, it might be better to wait until the entire series is released before diving in. That said, it’s a great read that’s different than most historical fiction that I’ve tried. I love the fantasy elements mixed in with high society. Fans of fantasy that wish to dip their toes into a new genre will have luck with this series. I also suspect that fans of historical fiction who want to try a lighter more realistic type of fantasy will also enjoy this series.

Leave a Reply

