Review: You Are Free: Be Who You Already Are by Rebekah Lyons

You Are Free: Be Who You Already Are
by Rebekah Lyons

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Source: BookLookBloggers

Synopsis:

Have you bought the lie? Many of us do. We measure our worth by what others think of us. We compare and strive, existing mostly for the approval of others. Pressure rises, anxiety creeps in and we hustle to keep up.
Jesus whispers, I gave my life to set you free. I gave you purpose. I called you to live in freedom in that purpose. Yet we still hobble through life, afraid to confess all the ways we push against this truth, because we can’t even believe it. We continue to grasp for the approval of anyone that will offer it: whether strangers, friends, or community.
Christ doesn’t say you can be or may be or will be free. He says you are free.
Dare you believe it?

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

I’m sort of on the fence with this book. I really liked it but frequently had a difficult time relating the concepts talked about to my own life. The author certainly has had many struggles in her life but I found them to be vastly different than my own. I enjoyed reading about her life and how she’s found peace in different seasons and how this related to her faith. I think the biggest thing that held me back is how obvious her passion was for God and a true relationship with Him. It seemed she’d had this for a long time and even grew up in a setting which supported that. I find myself wanting that but my own experiences have been vastly different.

I was still able to take quite a bit away from the book even though I had trouble connecting it to my own walk with religion and faith. A big element in this book was walking in God’s purpose for us. I’m not sure why but I’ve always felt uncomfortable when I sit in a group of Christians talking about how God is ‘using us’ for his great plans. In a way, I can see it as an honor to be chosen or nudged in a certain direction. At the same time, it feels off and leaves me wondering if God truly loves me or if God just appreciates what I might be able to do for Him.

I’ve walked away with quite a bit to think about and consider. Even though this wasn’t quite the book for me I still really enjoyed it. The format would be great for a small group with each chapter featuring a set of discussion questions. I do think there is a wide audience of people, especially women, who would get a lot more out of this than I did.

Leave a Reply

