Review: Perfect by Cecelia Ahern

Perfect (Flawed #2)
by Cecelia Ahern

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Source: ARC from Netgalley 

Synopsis:

Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine’s life has completely fractured–all her freedoms gone.

Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with Carrick–the only person she can trust.

But Celestine has a secret–one that could bring the entire Flawed system crumbling to the ground. A secret that has already caused countless people to go missing.

Judge Crevan is gaining the upper hand, and time is running out for Celestine. With tensions building, Celestine must make a choice: save just herself or to risk her life to save all Flawed people.

And, most important of all, can she prove that to be human in itself is to be Flawed?

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I had a mixture of emotions going into this book. I had really enjoyed Flawed and was somewhat skeptical about how the story might continue. I worried this book might be slow or go in a direction that I didn’t find as interesting. I’m happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised. I continued to get to know Celestine as she grew according to the circumstances around her. I enjoyed this but what I enjoyed, even more, was getting more time with Carrick. I admit I’ve got a bit of a book crush on the guy. I love how pure his motives are. He seems to be one of the few without some hidden agenda. I also appreciate that he frequently fumbles around and makes mistakes. He’s strong, brave, and courageous but he’s not a knight in shining armor come to save the day.

I was a little worried that this book would be slow and I’m happy to say that it definitely isn’t. There are a few sections where things slow down a little but for the most part, the pace is consistent. There were a few things that kind of annoyed me, like the location of the media file given to Celestine. I had guessed its location in the first book but they took so long in actually finding it that I began to doubt myself. I didn’t see all of the twists coming exactly the way they happened but I did know many. While much of the book felt a little predictable it was still entertaining, and the ending really blew me away. The final twist that happens had me gasping in delight and scaring the living daylights out of my dog who happened to be in my lap.

Overall, I really recommend these two books if you enjoy young adult dystopian novels. There is romance in the story but it’s balanced well so that it doesn’t completely take over and adds just a little extra. I suspect that even those who are burned out on this swamped genre might still enjoy this series and the different spin it takes. Book clubs will also find plenty to discuss in both books of the series.

One thought on “Review: Perfect by Cecelia Ahern

Leave a Reply

