Graphic Novel Review: Harbinger Renegade, Volume 1

Harbinger Renegade, Volume 1: The Judgment of Solomon 
by Rafer Roberts (Writer), Darick Robertson (Artist), Juan José Ryp (Artist)

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Source: Netgalley, Diamond Comic Distributors

Synopsis:

Anyone you know could become a Psionically Powered “Harbinger.” Your Neighbor. Your Boss. Your Best Friend. Your Kids.
Six months ago, a secret team of renegade whistleblowers leaked the existence of these extraordinarily dangerous individuals to a stunned world. Today, all across the country, crude, DIY psiot activation attempts have left hundreds brain-damaged…or worse. The emergence of a new psiot in a community often leads to riots and mass violence. America is terrified of what could happen next.
Now, Kris Hathaway, John “Torque” Torkelson, Faith “Zephyr” Herbert, and Peter Stanchek are about to discover their calling. Together, the Harbinger Renegade are moving from town to town, building their ranks, and subverting authority one mind at a time…and setting out to prove once and for all that behind their power, there has always been a purpose.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I didn’t know a lot about this series before jumping into this graphic novel which left me a little confused at first. I quickly got over that however and am now very curious to find out more about the series as a whole. I wasn’t instantly drawn to the art style but the composition was easy to understand and each page flowed really smoothly. The artwork felt crisp and amplified the ongoing story.

I’m a huge fan of shows like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D and Alphas, so I’m always drawn to any kind of stories that include hidden abilities in everyday people. I really liked this take on something I’ve seen before. While I didn’t have a lot of back story, I felt like I was able to get to know enough about each characters without it. My favorite aspect of this graphic novel was the amount of diversity that it included, especially in the character Faith.

Overall, if you are a fan of superhero stories of any kind you’ll most likely enjoy this graphic novel. I’m looking forward to exploring more of the series and finding out all of the backstory.

Leave a Reply

