Review: We’ll Never Be Apart by Emiko Jean

We’ll Never Be Apart
by Emiko Jean

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Source: Library

Synopsis:

Murder.

Fire.

Revenge.

That’s all seventeen-year-old Alice Monroe thinks about. Committed to a mental ward at Savage Isle, Alice is haunted by memories of the fire that killed her boyfriend, Jason. A blaze her twin sister Cellie set. But when Chase, a mysterious, charismatic patient, agrees to help her seek vengeance, Alice begins to rethink everything. Writing out the story of her troubled past in a journal, she must confront hidden truths.

Is the one person she trusts only telling her half the story? Nothing is as it seems in this edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller from the debut author Emiko Jean.

My Review:

3 of 5 Stars

The best way I can describe this book is that I liked it but, I didn’t love it. If you don’t see the big reveal at the end, the answer to the mystery, you’ll probably adore this book. If however, like me, you can sense what’s about to happen, it kind of takes the energy out of what’s supposed to be a thriller. I enjoyed the story but I wasn’t overly surprised by any of it. Most of it takes place inside a psychiatric facility which was portrayed in certain ways with a fair amount of accuracy and in others.. dreadful. Both Alice and Chase are able to steal keycards and wander the hospital seemingly at will. In a real setting, this would never happen for any number of reasons. First, if a staff member were to ‘lose’ a key or keycard the entire hospital would go on lockdown. Second, most hospitals have cameras in all public halls which are watched by extra security. I wouldn’t say something like this couldn’t ever happen, but not as often as it does in this book. Especially not with a patient who has a history of escape attempts and would forever be marked as a flight risk. Second, they’d never be allowed electronics of any kind in this type of facility. It made absolutely no sense to take away her toothbrush (which most facilities allow) but give her an I-Pod.

The errors took away some of the credibility of the story for me but I enjoyed the characters enough to still appreciate the book. I connected to Alice in a way, mostly due to her circumstances. I had already guessed at the ending and was always looking for clues to lead in that direction. That’s what brings me to my biggest gripe about the book. I like psychological thrillers that give me enough clues to be able to figure out what’s going on my own. My assumptions with this book came not from the story itself but previous experience with this trope. It mirrored many others that I’ve come across and didn’t feel that different. That said, I wanted more clues to either lead me astray or lead me to my already formed conclusion.

Overall, as I’ve said, I liked this story. It was a fast read and stayed interesting though a little predictable. If you don’t know the way it turns out before hand you’ll most likely enjoy this much more than I did.

Leave a Reply

