Fast Reads and Binge-Worthy Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish featuring a list based on a theme. I love to read in large chunks and can easily get sucked into a book for many hours at a time. I’m equally bad about staying up way too late finishing a book. For this week’s theme, I chose eight either short or binge-worthy books for my list.

1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff 

I adored this book, largely in part to its alternative format. The entire story is told through chat logs, evidence documents, and transcribed video feed. I devoured this book and recently read the second in the series just as quickly.

2. The Giver by Lois Lowry

I’m not sure how old I was when I first read this book, maybe twelve? It’s still one of my favorites, many years later. It’s not a large book and would be easy to read in one sitting.

3. Meals from Mars: A Parable of Prejudice and Providence by Ben Sciacca

This is an amazingly profound book that I truly think everyone should find the time to read. It talks about race issues in a way that I hadn’t thought of before. In addition, this is a very short and fairly easy read which makes it accessible to a wide audience.

4. The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

I don’t read a lot of poetry but I really enjoyed this collection. While I’ve written a bit myself, it’s not a genre I normally explore. Even if you read through this numerous times like I did, it’s a very quick read.

5. Saga by Brian K. Vaughan (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist)

Including graphic novels in this list seems a little like cheating but I have to include Saga. Right now there are seven volumes available and I highly encourage a binge of them all if it’s not a series you’ve read before.

6. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I’m still surprised as to how much I enjoyed this series because it’s not something I’d normally like. I’m not sure if it was just great timing or what, but I devoured this entire series. This series is like binging on junk food but for your brain.

7. Legion (Legion #1) by Brandon Sanderson

In many ways I wish this book didn’t fit on this list because I loved it that much. The entire book is under 100 pages long and is a very quick but also very intense read. I’ve not checked out the rest of the series yet but I plan to in the future.

8. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Jim Kay (Illustrator), Siobhan Dowd (Conception)

I really enjoyed this book and read it fairly quickly, all in one sitting. Format wise it’s a combination of regular novel and illustrations. I expected it to be scary but instead it was deeply emotional and moving. If you dive into this, bring tissues!

One thought on “Fast Reads and Binge-Worthy Books

Leave a Reply

