Review | Open When: Letters to Lift Your Spirits by Karen Salmansohn

Open When: Letters to Lift Your Spirits
by Karen Salmansohn

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Source: Blogging for Books

Synopsis:

Happiness expert Karen Salmansohn presents a unique interactive book that invites readers to literally open letters of encouragement, wit, and wisdom whenever they need a boost.
Inspired by the trend of “open when” letters sweeping the nation, Instant Happy author Karen Salmansohn has created a bound collection of 12 notes for readers to flip open whenever they need a pep talk. With categories like “Open when you need a laugh,” “Open when you’re feeling stressed out,” and “Open when you need courage,” these little happiness-boosters are based on Salmansohn’s viral posters that combine witty sayings with colorful graphics.

My Review:

5 of 5 Stars

I’ve got some strange mixed feelings about this book because I absolutely adored it but doubt it’s something I would have actually purchased. I really appreciate the premise behind it because little quotes and anecdotes are things that often help me out of a panic attack or through a rough time. I didn’t like all of the letters equally but a good majority would work for me in various situations. What I loved most was the artwork which I found incredibly inspiring. The colors are all very vibrant and most of the artwork has a feel of watercolor which is currently the medium that I’m working in myself.

This brings me to why I most likely wouldn’t actually purchase this book. I loved the artwork, but I didn’t see much that I wouldn’t be able to do myself. I’m really curious to see if I could somehow make my own ‘open when’ envelopes to give out as gifts to family. I keep coming back to the thought that this is something that I could do myself, so why would I need to buy it? I think it’s a really lovely idea but to make it something that I’d purchase I’d need more. Either more actual letters or more detailed artwork.

Basically, I don’t think I the exact right target audience for this. Even though I loved it and the idea behind it, I’d rather be the creator on a project like this than the consumer. That said, anyone who appreciates art but isn’t as interested in making any themselves will love this book. I’m also really thankful to be given a whole new creative project to try my hand at.

Leave a Reply

