You Are Here: An Owner’s Manual for Dangerous Minds by Jenny Lawson

You Are Here: An Owner’s Manual for Dangerous Minds
by Jenny Lawson

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

(On sale on Amazon!)

Source: Purchase

Synopsis: 

When Jenny Lawson is anxious, one of the things she does is to draw. Elaborate doodles, beautiful illustrations, often with captions that she posts online. At her signings, fans show up with printouts of these drawings for Jenny to autograph. And inevitably they ask her when will she publish a whole book of them. That moment has arrived.

You Are Here is something only Jenny could create. A combination of inspiration, therapy, coloring, humor, and advice, this book is filled with Jenny’s amazingly intricate illustrations, all on perforated pages that can be easily torn out, hung up, and shared. Drawing on the tenets of art therapy—which you can do while hiding in the pillow fort under your bed—You Are Here is ready to be made entirely your own.

Some of the material is dark, some is light; some is silly and profane and irreverent. Gathered together, this is life, happening right now, all around, in its messy glory, as only Jenny Lawson could show us.

My Review:

5+ of 5 Stars

I preordered this book over a month ago and have been looking forward to its release for even longer. I’ve read both of Jenny Lawson’s previous books and adored them. I’ve struggled with a number of mental health issues for most, if not all, of my and I found myself connecting with her stories on a very deep level. I’m also a huge fan of coloring books so I had some high expectations going in. Right now I’m in the perfect place in life to get a lot out of this book. I’ve recently started more intense therapy which is good but also really difficult. I can easily see myself keeping this book within arms reach to open up and give myself reminders.

What I appreciated the most was how this book was made up of one-page anecdotes rather than a continuous story or even chapter-long essays. When I’m having really bad anxiety it’s often nice to be able to pick up something small or tiny to hold onto. I remember having extreme anxiety and even panic attacks as early as preschool age, the above quote has been extremely true to my life. While the book mentions things like this I think the overall message is of hope but in a humorous way. I’ve grown very tired of cliche self-help books that are overly bright and cheerful. I find that I gravitate toward books that balance inspiration and strength with raw grit, and I found that in this book.

 I don’t know if I’ll color in my copy but I am thinking about it. The book is more than well made for colored pencils though I’m not sure about markers as the pages are printed on both sides. The paper is thick and amazing, perfect for a coloring book, or repeated reading through any of life’s storms. I also found it interesting that all of the pages in the book are perforated so you can easily remove them to put up a wall as art or even insert into a journal or planner. Overall, another amazing title from Jenny Lawson that I highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

