Graphic Novel Review: Lady Mechanika Vol. 1 & 2

lady-mechanika-1 lady-mechanika-2

Lady Mechanika, Vol.1: the Mystery of Mechanical Corpse

Lady Mechanika Vol. 2: The Tablet of Destinies

Volume 1: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis for Volume 1:

After a young friend shows up unexpectedly on her doorstep, Lady Mechanika immediately drops everything to come to her aid. They embark on a globe-spanning trek filled with ancient artifacts, secret societies, and scientific curiosities, but Lady Mechanika is eventually confronted with an impossible decision: the life of her friend, or the fate of all humankind.

This volume collects the entire second Lady Mechanika mini-series The Tablet of Destinies (originally published as Lady Mechanika: The Tablet of Destinies #1-6), plus a gorgeous cover art gallery.

Story by M. M. Chen. Pencils by Joe Benitez & Martin Montiel. Colors by Mike Garcia.

My Review:

4.5 of 5 Stars

Let’s talk Artwork

What drew me first to these graphic novels was the steampunk styled art. I glanced at some of the covers from the various chapters on GoodReads and was instantly wanting to read more. Sometimes when I have a lot of anticipation with something it’s easy to get disappointed but that wasn’t the case at all here.

  • Both of these volumes were done entirely in rich and vibrant color.
  • Each character had a very defined look which helped them feel more real.
  • The amount of detail in the scenes was a perfect balance. It never felt too busy or too simplistic. This was especially true for the airships which were stunning.

Let’s talk Plot and Character

One of my biggest issues with a lot of graphic novels surrounds the plot. All too often they just don’t feel as immersive or deep as a regular novel. This series shocked me with the level plot and multiple storylines that are constantly taking place, without being confusing.

  • Lady Mechanica is the star of the show and for good reason. She’s a magnificent strong female lead that can seriously kick ass.
  • Support characters are equally strong and interesting. I really liked Mr. Lewis in the first volume.
  • It’s easy to root for the good guys but I was equally interested in the other side. Cain from the first volume was mysterious and I am wondering if he will show up again in the future.
  • Not many graphic novels have kept me on the edge of my seat with suspense, but this one did. I was completely immersed into the story and felt like I was on an adventure while reading.

What I Thought Overall

I absolutely adored these graphic novels. My favorite part was the artwork – I loved the style and color. I’m still trying to decide if I disliked the idealistic character portrayals. Especially with the women, it seemed like they were very sexualized and while I loved the look of it artistically it left me feeling a little off. Lady Mechanica is built pretty perfectly being tall and slender but somehow with ample curves that seem very natural. It’s not too big of a problem but I would like to see more body types in future chapters. In summary, I’m really glad I went for these graphic novels and I highly recommend them to anyone who is a fan of steampunk or action. Artists will also be sure to enjoy this series.

Thank you to Diamond Comic Distributors and NetGalley for providing me with a free galley of both of these graphic novels in exchange for my honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

