Review: Future Threat by Elizabeth Briggs

future-threatFuture Threat (Future Shock #2)
by Elizabeth Briggs

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Source: ARC, Netgalley, Albert Whitman & Company 

Synopsis:

Six months ago Aether Corporation sent Elena, Adam, and three other recruits on a trip to the future where they brought back secret information–but not everyone made it back to the present alive. Now Elena’s dealing with her survivor’s guilt and trying to make her relationship with Adam work. All she knows for sure is that she’s done with time travel and Aether Corporation.

But Aether’s not done with her–or Adam, or fellow survivor Chris. The travelers on Aether’s latest mission to the future have gone missing, and Elena and her friends are drafted into the rescue effort. They arrive in a future that’s amazingly advanced, thanks to Aether Corporation’s reverse-engineered technology. The mission has deadly consequences, though, and they return to the future to try to alter the course of events.

But the future is different yet again. Now every trip through time reveals new complications, and more lives lost–or never born. Elena and Adam must risk everything–including their relationship–to save their friends.

My Review:

3 of 5 Stars

After reading this first book in this series (you can see my review here) I was curious to see where it would go. I was hoping to like this one in a similar way to Future Shock but was disappointed in quite a few ways. My biggest issue with this book was Elena and many of her choices. I found myself getting really frustrated with her, far more than I had in the previous book, especially in the way she treated Adam. I appreciated that the amount of trauma she’d been through already was taken into account and portrayed through PTSD. Her symptoms were understandable and believable but in the end felt a little too neatly wrapped up.

I was also disappointed that the romance took such a front seat in this book. It had been present in the first book but never felt like it took over completely. I wanted to get to know the other characters more but they often felt left in the shadows while the story focused in on tensions between Adam and Elena. I admit though that this probably wouldn’t frustrate fans of the romance genre as much as it did me.

As much as this book frustrated me I’m still really curious as to where the next book will take Elena. Unlike many series, this second book had a fairly wrapped up ending which made me wonder if it was a duology rather than an ongoing story. Even though this wasn’t my favorite I still enjoyed it as a light read and know that others will enjoy it more than I did. Any fans of romance wanting to venture into science fiction will be the best group for this series.

Leave a Reply

