I didn’t expect that.. Ten Books that Surprised Me.

toptentuesdaylogo

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish featuring a list based on a theme. This week we are exploring books that we didn’t expect to like or dislike as much as we did.

1. All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

I went into this book and quickly became uncomfortable with the story and the way it was going. I gave it a chance but it didn’t get better, it got worse. I didn’t finish this book and still, have really strong feelings about it. I’ve mentioned it before and always struggle to not go off on an entire rant about it. Just.. UGH.

2. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

I’m not a fan of romance in general so it’s still surprising that this book is one of my favorites if not my actual favorite of all time. I’ve read it numerous times and just realized I’m long overdue to read it again!

3. The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I went into this book expecting to really enjoy it but was just bored. I never really connected with the characters and it seemed to drag for me. It’s a book I might try again in the future but I have a suspicion I’ll enjoy the movie more.

4. Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson

There was a time when I didn’t know that Brandon Sanderson was a famous author (I know, weird huh?) so I picked up this series sort of randomly. All three books were available and I decided that was enough reason to give it a shot. I expected to be entertained by it but I fell in love. I’ve only read the first three books but I’ve got the rest on my TBR. I’m also curious to read more (perhaps everything.. including grocery lists?) by the author.

5. The Invasion of Heaven by Michael B. Koep

I really expected and wanted to like this book. The premise is incredibly interesting but the actual book just felt confusing. I was 30% into the book and still didn’t really understand what was going on nor had I really connected with any character. Sadly, it’s now in my pile of DNF’s.

6. Lady Mechanika by Joe Benítez

With the combination of steampunk and cover art, I expected to enjoy this graphic novel series. The cover is only a small taste of the amazing illustration done in this series. As much as I love the artwork, the storyline matches it perfectly. I love this series and am looking forward to reading more.

7. Yes Please by Amy Poehler

It’s not that I didn’t like this memoir, but I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. Amy Poehler is an amazing actress and comedian and I’ve enjoyed much of her work. I expected to enjoy this just as much as I had enjoyed her on SNL or Parks and Recreation. It was okay, but it didn’t engage me as much as expected.

8. Saga Series by Brian K. Vaughan 

I started reading this because I kept hearing about it. I liked the cover art and was curious after so many booktubers and bloggers had mentioned it. I expected to like it but not to fall in love with it. After reading it I’m still a little shocked because of how graphic this book can be. This is definitely an adult graphic novel but I adore it and can’t wait for Volume 7 to be published later this year.

9. Curious Minds by Janet Evanovich

I don’t really connect with this author’s writing style but for some reason keep trying to like her books. I wanted to enjoy this book but in the end, only sort of liked it. I wasn’t a huge fan of the characters and the style of humor used isn’t that funny to me. I finished this book but have no desire to read the rest of the series.

10. Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

It’s not that I didn’t expect to like this series but I thought I’d have trouble getting through all five main books. I’m not great at finishing the series I start but somehow I managed to all but devour this one. I read all of the books in a fairly short time frame and really got into them. I’ve not ventured into the series spinoff yet but I’m curious and they are on my TBR.

What about you?

Have you read any of the books on my list? Do you agree or disagree with my thoughts? What other books have you read that surprised you, good or bad? Let me know in the comments below!

 

7 thoughts on “I didn’t expect that.. Ten Books that Surprised Me.

    • I’ve thought about giving The Perks of Being a Wallflower another chance because I’ve had a few people tell me that it gets better and is deep, perhaps in the future. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Like

  1. I’ve heard lots of … things about AtUaWT and I’m not sure it’s for me. I might still give it a try at some point, but I’m a bit scared by the premise. And I’m kind of with you about TPoBaW as well—it’s not that I didn’t like it, but I wasn’t nearly as blown away by it as some other people were, and I just haven’t been able to bring myself to watch the movie yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was just sort of bored with TPoBaW so I didn’t even finish it. I’m a huge fan of Emma Watson so I’ll probably eventually watch the movie because of that but I don’t have high expectations. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. You know, I didn’t mind the Vampire Academy series when I read it, but the more time that passes since I last read it, I fail to remember what I even liked about it. I’d be curious to read it again to see if it stood the test of time for me.

    Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

