Review: The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

accident-seasonThe Accident Season
by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom.

The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

Our Review:

I’ve partnered up with my favorite reading buddy – my Mom, Debra – to review this book we picked up at our local library.

Katy – 4 of 5 Stars

Mom – 4 of 5 Stars

How we felt on Characters:

Mom: I enjoyed all of the characters. They seemed well rounded, believable. I especially enjoyed that the teenagers seemed like realistic teenagers.

Katy: I agree, I appreciated the realism that gave to the story. Cara sometimes frustrated me though because it seemed she was purposefully putting her head in the sand so to speak. For instance, what did you think about the situation with Nick?

Mom: I liked him at first because he seemed loyal and devoted to Alice. Eventually, he showed his true colors and I quickly came to distrust him. I felt like this was left a little open at the end. I’m not sure how exactly this part of the story wrapped up – it felt confusing.

Katy: I hadn’t thought about that but yeah, in retrospect I’m not that clear on how that resolved. I think it was more hinted at than something deliberately spelled out.

Our thoughts about the ‘accident season’:

Katy: I went into this book expecting one thing and it turned out quite different than I anticipated. I loved how the paranormal was mixed in with this magical theme and then the way it twisted around and became something else. Did you see that coming?

Mom: No, I was completely surprised at the end. I loved the character of Elsie, she was always on my mind through the book. I couldn’t figure out who she was or how she connected to the story for a long time and was relieved by the end to finally have that answered.

Katy: I agree, she seemed to always be in the background but didn’t really tie in that well until the end when suddenly it made sense.

Our thoughts on the romance:

Mom: I thought the romances were handled well and they didn’t take over the story. They were important in supporting the plot but not the main element.

Katy: I enjoyed the romance as well though I got a little impatient with Cara on occasion because of her choices at the party. I wanted to shake her a little but I could see why she was resistant. What did you think of the taboo nature of that potential relationship?

Mom: I could understand why it was risky but was always hopeful that they would overcome the issues they faced and get together.

Overall, we both really enjoyed this book. The characters are portrayed well and are easy to connect with. The plot is also engaging and moves steadily along though it’s not filled with action. We especially loved that it was somewhat weird and not what we expected. We both recommend this to anyone who wants to venture into fantasy but doesn’t want anything too extreme.

Leave a Reply

