2016/2017 Year in Review Book Tag

yearinreviewbooktag

I’ve not done a lot of book tags (actually, perhaps none at all) and I was super excited to get tagged by Not-so-modern girl a few weeks ago. You can check out her answers here.

Trump vs Clinton: your favorite character rivalry

This is a hard one as I don’t read many books that feature a rivalry. Possibly in The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden between Vaslissa and the evil element.

Turkey failed coup: a book you started but failed to finish

The most recent book I’ve DNF’d is Criminal Zoo by Sean McDaniel, it got way too graphic for me.

Pokémon Go: what book did you buy and read based on hype?

I’ve not bought many books recently but two I checked out from my library based on hype are Ready Player One by Ernest Cline and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

Stranger things: what’s one book you want everyone to read?

This one’s hard because there are so many that I’d love to share with others. The first that came to mind though is The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova.

Game of thrones, the walking dead, Mr. Robot: what was your favourite book cliff-hanger within a series?

I’m not usually a fan of cliff hangers so it’s difficult for me to pick out a favorite for this but the most recent I enjoyed was in the Gilded Cage by Vic James, it’s not a severe cliffhanger but some things happen at the end which is pretty shocking.

The tragic crisis in Aleppo: name the last book that made you cry or teary-eyed.

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle made me tear up pretty good, especially in the ending. I loved this book, it was totally different than expected.

Brexit: name a book you have unpopular opinions towards.

I know I’m not the only one that disliked All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
by Bryn Greenwood but I admit to being shocked as to how popular this book is. The main relationship in this book is between an adult (24 or 25) and a child (13) and even if it doesn’t fall into a classic definition of pedophilia it’s still incredibly wrong. I could go on forever about this but yeah. Just.. Nope.

Four new elements discovered in the periodic table: name an author you read for the first time.

Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman are two of my favorite authors I’ve tried for the first time in the past year or so.

#Alllivesmatter: name your favourite diverse read.

I’m trying to make more of an effort to read diverse books, the most recent was Dreadnought by April Daniels which features a transgendered superhero.

Vika virus: name a book that spread like wildfire.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake is way more popular than I realized when I decided to read it. I’m looking forward to the rest of the series!

Leonardo DiCaprio finally won an Oscar: what was your most anticipated release this year?

Probably The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova, I’d heard about it at some point last year and couldn’t wait to read it.

In memoriam: name a memorable character death.

I don’t read a lot of books which feature any of the main cast of characters dying. The only one I can think of which sort of fills this one is Traveler by L.E. DeLano.

Samsung Phones: name a book that blew your mind.

There are so many I could name here but I’m going to go with The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova. I knew I would like this book but didn’t expected to fall in love with it as much as I did.

I tag: Anyone and Everyone who is willing

Yeah, I know that’s sort of cheating but I’m lazy and don’t want to put anyone on the spot either. If you decide to participate in the tag let me know! If you don’t have a blog feel free to answer either some or all of it in the comments below.

4 thoughts on “2016/2017 Year in Review Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (2/13 – 2/19) | Glorious Panic

  2. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award – Not-so-modern girl

Leave a Reply

