Review: The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

the-princess-saves-herselfThe Princess Saves Herself in this One
by Amanda Lovelace

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

“Ah, life- the thing that happens to us while we’re off somewhere else blowing on dandelions & wishing ourselves into the pages of our favorite fairy tales.”

A poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

Even though I’ve written quite a bit of poetry myself I don’t read much. I’m not sure why but it’s never been a big interest for me when it comes to reading. I’ve seen this book around for a little while and absolutely loved the title as well as the simplistic design of the cover. It stands out and drew me in instantly.

The poetry itself is divided into separate sections which for me represented the stages of healing really well. Some of the wording was a little repetitive but I found this to be accurate to recovery rather than annoying. What I enjoyed most about this is how it lacks a certain amount of detail due to the separate poems. With most books this wouldn’t be a positive because I wouldn’t connect with an empty character. With this it made it easier to personalize the poetry and see it from my own perspective.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read that I can see myself picking up multiple times. It’s quick enough that it would be easy to go over with a friend or book group but still chock full of discussion. Even if you aren’t usually a fan of poetry, I recommend giving this a try.

Thank you to Andrews McMeel Publishing for providing me with a free galley of this book in exchange for my honest review.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (2/13 – 2/19) | Glorious Panic

  2. Pingback: Fast Reads and Binge-Worthy Books | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

