Review: Traveler by L.E. DeLano

travelerTraveler (Traveler #1)
by L.E. DeLano

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

Jessa has spent her life dreaming of other worlds and writing down stories more interesting than her own, until the day her favorite character, Finn, suddenly shows up and invites her out for coffee. After the requisite nervous breakdown, Jessa learns that she and Finn are Travelers, born with the ability to slide through reflections and dreams into alternate realities. But it’s not all steampunk pirates and fantasy lifestyles…Jessa is dying over and over again, in every reality, and Finn is determined that this time, he’s going to stop it… this Jessa is going to live.

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

I admit the first thing that drew me to this book is the cover art. I’m pretty much in love with it. I was also instantly drawn in by the idea of Travelers – people who are born with the ability to travel to alternate realities. While it’s not exactly time travel, it still falls into one of my must try premise themes. It took me a long time to get interested in Jessa. I got a little frustrated with her at the beginning of the book. Her resistance to what was happening and to Finn was understandable but.. it felt like it was holding the story up. I enjoyed extra time to get to know her family and Ben but in a way, it felt a little forced.

My favorite part of the story was the actual travel, especially glitter world. It’s completely unfair that I’m now craving food that doesn’t exist in my reality. (Glitter mousse sounds amazing.) Once things picked up speed toward the end of the book, I couldn’t put it down. I didn’t see all the twists coming, especially in the cave. That scene almost had me in tears. I was also legitimately shocked when ‘the bad guy’ was revealed.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The characters are fun and easy to like for the most part. The world building is interesting and engaging, especially with the alternate dimensions that differ from Jessa’s main reality. If you enjoy fantasy romance I highly recommend you check this one out. As a warning, though, this is a series and the next book isn’t scheduled for release until April of 2018 according to GoodReads. I wouldn’t say the ending is a cliffhanger but it does leave a lot of questions that will hopefully get resolved later in the series.

Big thanks to Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group and Netgalley for providing me with a free ARC of this book in exchange for my honest review.

2 thoughts on “Review: Traveler by L.E. DeLano

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (2/06 – 2/12) | Glorious Panic

  2. Pingback: 2016/2017 Year in Review Book Tag | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

