More or Less : Ten Books I’d Change

toptentuesdaylogo

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish featuring a list based on a theme. This week’s theme is devoted to books we’d either add more to or take something away from.

three-dark-crowns

1. More Diversity – Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

There was ample room in this book to have more diversity. The three sisters would obviously be all of one race but it makes no sense that the rest was so white washed. I also saw a lot of room to include LGBTQ characters in the story line without altering any of the actual plot progression.

ready-player-one

2. Less Obscure Reference – Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

As much as I loved this book, one of the reasons a lot of people had trouble with it was due to the plethora of trivia found throughout. This didn’t really impede my reading of the book but there was plenty of it I didn’t understand.

if-i-was-your-girl

3. Less Idealism – If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

I loved reading a book about a trans girl getting established in a new school. The fact that an actual trans girl is on the cover is a major bonus. I even appreciate the point the author was trying to make by not including some of the usual issues trans teens face. That said, it felt a little too idealistic to me. Yes, the main character faced many serious issues but it felt way toned down to reality.

angelfall

4. Less Creepy –  Penryn & the End of Days series by Susan Ee

I enjoyed this series for the most part but could have done without some of the creepier parts. I’m still on the fence on this one in a way. I am still throughly grossed out by the experiments that took place in this series months after reading it. It’s a good read but I wonder if it could have been toned down a little on the more graphic elements.

legion

5. More.. Everything – Legion by Brandon Sanderson

I really liked this book and was a little sad that it’s so short. I instantly wanted more. There is a second book in the series but I love the premise enough that I know I’ll want it to go on much longer than it does.

there-will-be-stars

6. Less Religion – There Will Be Stars by Billy Coffey

I get why religion was used in this story but I have to admit I didn’t like that aspect of the book much. It’s not so much that it’s not realistic as it just made me uncomfortable, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It demonstrated well how religion and deep held beliefs can often be manipulated and turned into weapons.

light

7. More story – Light by Rob Cham

I absolutely adored this graphic novel for the artwork and would love to own a copy just for inspiration purposes. That said, I felt like the story itself was a little lacking. It’s easily understandable but simplistic, something that could easily be fleshed out and given more depth.

wintersong

8. More Action – Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

I really enjoyed this book but the middle section was slow. I appreciated the writing style but at times it just seemed to drag which made me lose focus on what was happening.

hunter

9. Less Cliche – Hunter by Mercedes Lackey

I enjoyed this first peek into a new series but wanted a little less cliche. A lot of the plot felt recycled from other well-known books, and the world building was much the same. I also wanted a really strong female lead in this but it didn’t deliver.

the-nightmare-before-christmas

10. More Color – Tim Burton’s Nightmare Before Christmas by Jun Asuka

This is a story that I’ve always loved so I was a little disappointed that this manga version didn’t live up to my expectations. The biggest part that was missing for me was the color which would have given the artwork a lot more richness and depth. It really didn’t work for me in black and white.

What about you?

I know that we desperately need more diversity in books and could have devoted my whole list to books that have been white washed with all heterosexual and cisgendered characters. I wanted to make my list a little more varied and explore a lot of different themes. Are there any books you’d like to add more to or subtract some elements from? Let me know in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “More or Less : Ten Books I’d Change

  1. I totally agree with you on Angelfall… It got to the point of making me physically sick just reading or thinking about certain parts. Ugh. I don’t know if it would have made the plot any less engaging or if it was absolutely necessary to include certain stuff in it, but I could definitely have done without it.
    Glad to know I’m not just too sensitive to be able to stomach it!

    Like

  2. Bummer about Wintersong and Hunter, I was planning to read them. I might still give it a try but not going to keep my expectations high after reading your review.

    As for diversity, I must recommend this indie series I picked up, called Books of Belshalara. I can’t find the Kindle editions right now, but there are paperback editions available (I think the authors are going to do a new edition for Kindle market, not sure) but the series is written by a LGBTQ couple (the husband is a trans guy) and it’s quite promising. I haven’t read far enough to say anything, but I’d say give it a try since it’s written by actual LGBTQ people and should give a good perspective.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (2/06 – 2/12) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

