Review: It’s All Absolutely Fine by Ruby Elliot

its-all-absolutely-fineIt’s All Absolutely Fine
by Ruby Elliot

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

IT’S ALL ABSOLUTELY FINE is a darkly comic, honest and unapologetic illustrated account of the daily struggles with mental health. Ruby Elliot, aka Rubyetc, is the talent behind the hit tumblr account, ‘Rubyetc’, which has over 210k followers and growing. Taking readers on a journey through the ups and downs of life, the book will encompass everything from anxiety, bipolar disorder and body image to depression and identity, shining a light on very real problems – all framed with Ruby’s trademark humour and originality.

Ruby balances mental health with humour, making serious issues accessible – and very funny. With the superb talent to capture the essence of human emotion (and to make you laugh out loud), this book is as important and necessary as it is entertaining. IT’S ALL ABSOLUTELY FINE will include mostly never-before-seen material, both written and illustrated, and will be an empowering book that will make you laugh, make you think, and make things ok.

My Review:

3 of 5 Stars

I actually feel bad that I didn’t enjoy this more than I did. I tend to gravitate toward anything that has a mental health theme because of my own struggles, this was no exception. I really enjoyed this part of the book – the way she talked about her own issues. It was this perfect mix of humor and harsh reality that I tend to enjoy. I found myself nodding several times in agreement with the parts about her depression. I’ve struggled for many years with various diagnoses so it was easy to relate to for me.

The artwork wasn’t my favorite though it did get better farther into the book. In one way I enjoyed the sketchy style of drawing. It lent itself really well to the overall journal feel of the book itself. I really liked one drawing in particular of a tentacled monster and am inspired to try my hand at some kind of similar mythical beast to represent my anxiety.

Overall, it was an okay graphic novel that touches on some of the real thoughts and emotions behind what I’ve experienced with depression and anxiety. I probably would have liked it a lot more had it felt more cohesive rather than separate essays joined together in book format. Even though I didn’t love this, I still highly recommend it as a read if you or anyone you know experiences mental illness as it’s a great way to get a peek into that kind of mindset.

Thank you to Andrews McMeel Publishing for providing me with a free copy of this graphic novel in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “Review: It’s All Absolutely Fine by Ruby Elliot

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (1/23 – 2/05) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

