Ten Manga Series I Plan to Read

toptentuesdaylogo

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish featuring a list based on a theme. This week’s theme is all about the visual side of books like graphic novels, comic books, and manga. My top ten is focused on ten manga series I plan on (eventually) reading in completion or catching up on if they are ongoing.

fairy-tail

1. Fairy Tail by Hiro Mashima

I adore this series because of how adorable it is. It’s fun and filled with humor, action, and all kinds of magic. The series is huge with 519 chapters and 57 volumes with more being created weekly.

soul-eater

2. Soul Eater by Atsushi Ohkubo

It’s been a while since I’ve read any of this series so I might start over at the beginning as a refresher. I love the premise behind it along with all the action and the two main characters.

bleach

3. Bleach by Tite Kubo

This is another huge series with 686 chapters but it’s completed so I’ll be able to finish it rather than just attempt a catch-up. In a way, this series reminds me a lot of a more serious slightly less humorous version of Soul Eater but with its own twists and turns.

one-piece

4. One Piece by Eiichiro Oda

It’s been a while since I’ve read any of this series as well so it’s another I might start over from the beginning. I was recommended this by a friend and fell in love with it. It’s incredibly funny and the characters are charmingly hilarious.

fullmetal-alchemist

5. Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa

This is another series that’s been completed. Compared to some others this one actually isn’t as long with only 108 chapters. The shorter series is made up for in quality with rich characters, a full and emotional back story, and a great balance of humor and depth. There are also some spinoffs of this series once I’m done with it.

attack-on-titan

6. Attack on Titan by Hajime Isayama

This series is a little more confusing than some of the others I’ve chosen. I’ve started reading it a few times and have a feeling it’s something I’ll need to focus on more than I have in the past. I love the artwork in this series with the giants and the various gear and weapon systems.

berserk

7. Berserk by Kentaro Miura

I’ve not started this series yet but I’ve been curious about it for a while because of the synopsis on Goodreads. I’ve found that most manga that I’ve read pushes my comfort level in some way but I’ve heard this is one of the extremes with a lot of violence. I don’t normally like blood and gore but for some reason this one has caught my attention.

food-wars

8. Food Wars! by Yuto Tsukuda

Food Wars has only recently caught my attention as I try and expand the type of manga that I read. I seem to gravitate more the more action packed violent themes and want to push myself to try something new. This series sounds interesting as it surrounds the very competitive world of cooking.

naruto

9. Naruto by Masashi Kishimoto

I admit part of what draws me to Naruto is that it’s so popular that it has to be good. I love the colorful artwork on the covers as well as the premise of ninja’s and lots of action.

noblesse

10. Noblesse by Son Jae Ho

I started reading this series last year kind of on accident. I wanted to pick something somewhat random and slightly different. I love the characters and the ongoing storyline filled with vampires and intense magic. I also appreciate the balance of humor and somewhat serious moments.

Have I missed anything?

What comic books, manga, and graphic novels are your favorite? Let me know some new series to try in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Ten Manga Series I Plan to Read

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (1/23 – 2/05) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

