Bookish Crafting : DIY Bookmarks

bookishcrafts

I love art of all kinds and made a bunch of goals this year to work more on creative endeavors. One project I’ve been having a lot of fun with recently has been making my own bookmarks with watercolor paint (and some other stuff). The cool thing about making bookmarks is you can use just about any mediums you’d like and the smaller size keeps each one from being overwhelming.

Inspiration from the Web

I’ve found a bunch of different ways to get inspired and learn new techniques all over the internet. The following are a few that came in handy for this project.

 

Materials I’ve Used

The Finished Products

wp_20170127_21_30_20_pro

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Afterthoughts

I had a blast making these and am excited to try more. I’ve got a bunch of ideas to make them a little more finished looking including a corner punch to round the edges. I’m also thinking of getting some embroidery floss and beads to make tassels. I also plan on using the masking tape more to prevent my paper from warping. I’ll probably flatten some of these in some heavy books anyway but it’d be nice if they didn’t bend.

What about you?

I think this could be the start of an obsession for me but I’m curious as to how many others would do this kind of thing. Do you have any other bookish crafts that you think I’d like to try? Let me know in the comments below!

 

2 thoughts on “Bookish Crafting : DIY Bookmarks

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (1/08 – 1/22) | Glorious Panic

  2. Pingback: Glorious January Favorites | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

