Review: The Bones Will Speak by Carrie Stuart Parks

the-bones-will-speakThe Bones Will Speak (Gwen Marcey #2)
by Carrie Stuart Parks

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

Forensic artist Gwen Marcey has become the target of a serial killer who believes he’s been appointed God’s executioner.

In Copper Creek, Montana, Gwen Marcey is struggling to put together her life after cancer and divorce. When her dog retrieves a skull of a murder victim and leads her to the victim’s grave, Gwen uses her forensic art ability to identify a serial killer. She is horrified to discover all the victims look like her fourteen-year-old daughter.

The murderer is a “lone wolf,” a member of the terrorist group Phineas Priesthood-and he has a score to settle with Gwen. Unraveling the tangled Christian Identity movement, where race-not grace-provides salvation, Gwen is in a frantic rush against time. She must use all her skills to uncover the killer before he can carry out his threat to destroy her and everyone she loves.

My Review: 

4 of 5 Stars

Not long ago I read the first book in this series, you can find that review here. I’m always a little nervous with any series where I really enjoy the first book. Will the second live up to my expectations? I’m pleased to say that in this case, it did that very well. First, while this is a series, each book could easily be read as a standalone. In this regard, it reminds me of the various crime shows that are so popular on TV like Bones where there is a continuing story but each episode is enjoyable even if you don’t know all of the history.

I really enjoyed getting to know the characters even more in this book. In the first book, I hade a few issues with the teenage daughter as a character but I appreciated her much more in this sequel. Rather than comparing her to other teenage characters in books I’ve read, I compared her to actual teens. Granted, I have limited experience with this age group beyond my own experience as one but was happy to note that she seems ultra realistic. She’s got an attitude and she isn’t afraid to use it, but behind that harsh front is someone that really cares about others. I also enjoyed seeing Gwen and Beth working together again to solve the case.

As for twists, this book shocked me just as much as the last. I was speculating right up until the end and then felt my jaw drop. I felt all of the feelings Gwen went through right along with her. In retrospect, I saw all the clues I hadn’t pieced together. I absolutely loved this and the heart racing moments that ensued quickly after.

What I love most about these books is that it’s combining this classic mystery thriller genre with faith that’s portrayed in a balanced way. Both storylines boldly point out the extremist groups that exist within the Christian world as well as display loving Christ-centered faith in an unobtrusive living it kind of way. It’s not filled with lengthy scripture but here are there you’ll see characters pray before eating or contemplate a single bible verse that fits in with the ongoing story.

I’m already planning on picking up the third book in this series from the library and am eagerly anticipating news of the fourth book which is scheduled to be released later in 2017.

Thank you to the publisher as well as BookLook Bloggers for providing me with a free galley of this book in exchange for my honest review.

0 thoughts on “Review: The Bones Will Speak by Carrie Stuart Parks

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (1/08 – 1/22) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

