Devotional Review: Jesus Today by Sarah Young

jesus-todayJesus Today: Experience Hope in His Presence
by Sarah Young

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

Hope Shines Brightest When Your World Is Darkest
Jesus Today® was written during a very difficult time in Sarah Young’s life. Yet the words of Scripture and Jesus’ own Presence were ever near, bringing her hope and comfort for each new day.
Whether you need a lifeline to lift you out of discouragement or are simply longing for an encouraging boost in your day, this devotional—a sequel to the #1-bestselling Jesus Calling®—will speak powerful hope into your life. Based on truths in Scripture, it is written as if Jesus Himself is assuring you that He is in control, that He is good, and that a glorious future awaits all who anchor their hope in Him.
Reaching out with peace-filled reminders of Jesus’ Presence from the Word of God these devotions will intimately, quietly connect you with Jesus, the One who meets you right where you are.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I’m always looking for new devotionals that I can read either in the morning to start the day or right before bed. What pulled me toward this book first was the artwork on the cover. I love the distressed look and the dove with print is beautiful. On the hardcover this bird is slightly raised and glossy which gives it another eye appeal. With most books I don’t care as much about how they are abound but with anything I’ll be reading daily for a long term period this matters. I’m happy to report that this devotional impressed be. It’s a hefty little book and has excellent binding that will surely last through multiple readings of the 150 included devotions.

Inside the book, it just continued to impress me. The paper used in this edition is both thicker than I expected and glossy. I found the downside to this beautiful paper to be in the additional weight. Also included in the binding is a ribbon to mark your place daily which comes in really handy. The end papers are beautiful enough to make me want scrapbooking paper in that style.  The devotions themselves are all two page spreads with artwork at the top. One side has a devotion and the other has scripture that goes along with it.

I’ve read through about half of the devotions now and really enjoy them. I appreciated the introduction where the author explains the health issues she was experiencing while writing the book. In the very back of the book you’ll also find an index of scripture. What I appreciated most about this devotional compared to some others I have is that it’s not dated. I get a little weird about not reading the ‘correct day’ and this solves that problem. If I miss a day or two I’m not ‘behind’, and I can start whenever.

Overall I really do like this devotional though I have to admit it’s not a perfect fit for what I’m looking for. I can’t really put my finger on why though and do think others would probably adore this.

Big thanks to Harper Collins and BookLook Bloggers for sending me a copy of this book twice after a mailing issue in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “Devotional Review: Jesus Today by Sarah Young

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (1/08 – 1/22) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

