Audiobook Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

yes-pleaseYes Please
by Amy Poehler

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

I really enjoyed listening to this audiobook while doing other things. I’ve been a fan of Amy Poehler from SNL and was curious to learn more about her. I enjoyed the anecdotes and the progression but I never really connected with her personally. I enjoyed her take on a number of different things. My favorite quote was “Good for you, not for me.” I love this as a life motto and found the way she explained to be entertaining and humorous. Like quite a few of these celebrity memoirs I found that the audiobook seemed to contain extra bits and pieces as opposed to the regular book version. It was interesting to hear some parts read by other celebrities, even written by them.

Amy narrates this audiobook primarily herself and I appreciated this extra addition. Her voice was recognizable and gave life to some of the humorous sections. The guest appearances were interesting but not always as funny.

Overall, it was an okay audiobook. I enjoyed the comedy and walked away with some food for thought. I didn’t love it though and can’t really explain why beyond the fact that I never felt like I could relate to much of what she was talking about. This is a completely personal opinion though and I can easily see others enjoying this more than I did.

 

2 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (1/08 – 1/22) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

