Review: The Dream Protocol by Adara Quick

the-dream-protocolThe Dream Protocol (Descent #1)
by Adara Quick

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Also available on Kindle Unlimited

Synopsis:

WHATEVER YOU DO, DON’T GET OLD.

In fiery young Deirdre Callaghan’s home of Skellig City, no one has dreamt their own dream in over a thousand years. Dreams are produced by the Dream Makers and sold by the Ministry, the tyrannical rulers of the city. In Skellig City, years of life are awarded equally and the ruined are cast away beneath the city on their 35th birthday.

Unbeknownst to the Ministry, Deirdre’s handsome friend Flynn Brennan is afflicted with a terrible disease – a disease that accelerates the aging process. Knowing his fate if the Ministry should ever discover his illness, Flynn has lived his whole life hiding from their watchful eyes. When Flynn’s secret is finally discovered, Deirdre is determined to free him from the Ministry’s grasp. But to save him, she will have to reveal herself to a shadowy enemy…one that none of them even knew existed.

My Review:

2 of 5 Stars

I love the premise of this story. The idea of this dystopian world where a government has control of everything including your dreams. It felt like Divergent and Inception had a baby (sort of). I was excited to read it and get immersed in an interesting plot. I love the concept, the execution ruined it for me.

  • The beginning of the story is confusing at best because it’s not told from Deirdre’s perspective. Alternating perspectives through the book just continued to muddle the actual plot. I appreciated getting to read through both Deirdre and Flynn’s viewpoints but other perspectives like her mother and sister didn’t connect well.
  • Deirdre annoyed me and was never a completely believable character. I never understood where her rebellion came from or why she wanted so badly to fight the system. From an outsiders perspective, this seems obvious, the government has far too much power over its people. This character, however, is one of the privledged few. She’s been born into this society and grown up with it, the fact that she seems so shocked by it doesn’t make sense. She seems frequently unaware of the depth of the risks she’s taking which just led it to feel even less genuine.
  • Flynn was an okay character but his illness didn’t really make a lot of sense to me. The book seemed to want to portray a real illness that exists but not correctly. This leads me to my next issue…
  • Age just isn’t portrayed correctly at all throughout the book. I can get behind the idea of everyone being sent off at age 35 but the fact is that’s fairly young for people to have as many wrinkles, streaks of gray hair, and health problems as portrayed in the book. It’s very possible that the characters might have these issues due to stress or trauma but that’s nothing to do with age.
  • I love the premise and the concept of this book but for such a short story it had far too many elements and became very confusing because of this. I would have preferred more focus one some of these and perhaps the introduction of more in future books or just a longer book, to begin with.
  • This didn’t feel like a complete book in the end but more a prequel to an actual series. It never really wrapped anything up and dumped us into a strange environment that never felt real to me. In retrospect, it felt more like an info dump about this universe and a few encounters with some brief action than the full first book in a series.

Overall, this just wasn’t the book for me. I wanted to like it so much and still can appreciate the concept behind it. It’s an amazing idea for a story that I’d love to read. The way it’s written, however, isn’t my cup of tea. I do encourage you to still give it a try to see if it will work for you.

Even though this book wasn’t for me I’d still like to thank Xpresso Book Tours and Netgalley for providing me with a free galley in exchange for my honest review.

 

One thought on “Review: The Dream Protocol by Adara Quick

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (1/08 – 1/22) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

