Blog Tour + Giveaway: Freeks by Amanda Hocking

freeksFreeks
by Amanda Hocking

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

Welcome to Gideon Davorin’s Traveling Sideshow, where necromancy, magical visions, and pyrokinesis are more than just part of the act…

Mara has always longed for a normal life in a normal town where no one has the ability to levitate or predict the future. Instead, she roams from place to place, cleaning the tiger cage while her friends perform supernatural feats every night.

When the struggling sideshow is miraculously offered the money they need if they set up camp in Caudry, Louisiana, Mara meets local-boy Gabe…and a normal life has never been more appealing.

But before long, performers begin disappearing and bodies are found mauled by an invisible beast. Mara realizes that there’s a sinister presence lurking in the town with its sights set on getting rid of the sideshow freeks. In order to unravel the truth before the attacker kills everyone Mara holds dear, she has seven days to take control of a power she didn’t know she was capable of—one that could change her future forever.

Bestselling author Amanda Hocking draws readers inside the dark and mysterious world of Freeks.

blog-tour-banner

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

I enjoyed this book in the same way that I enjoy french fries from McDonald’s. It was a lovely and easy read that held my attention all the way until the end and even more so once the action started picking up. I enjoyed the romance even if it was 100% instant-love and somewhat cheesy. Sometimes I appreciate a little junk food, even for my brain, and this was absolutely perfect to snuggle up with on a cold day. Mara is a wonderful and strong female character. I loved getting to know her though she was also frustratingly slow on ‘getting things’. I figured out quite a few of the twists that came in the story well before they happened but didn’t mind. Most of all, I loved the premise and how the story took place in a carnival setting.

Surprisingly, I liked this book enough that I’m really wanting a continuation. The ending does a fairly decent job of wrapping up all the loose ends. It left me with a complete story and not too many questions, perhaps even a little too neatly done? I loved getting to know the various characters enough, however, that I’d love to see more from this group of ‘Freeks’.

Overall, I was able to really enjoy this book. If you were a fan of Twilight, this book is perfect for you. However, it might miss the mark if you don’t appreciate that kind of writing. It’s fun and enjoyable for me, but I can see a lot of ways that others wouldn’t appreciate it simply due to preference. I still highly recommend it to anyone who’s a fan of young adult fantasy or paranormal romance.

A big thanks to St. Martin’s Press for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Giveaway

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour + Giveaway: Freeks by Amanda Hocking

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (1/01 – 1/08) | Glorious Panic

  2. Have you read her Trylle Trilogy? I bought two of her series (Trylle Trilogy and Kanin Chronicles) a while back but didn’t get around to reading them yet. Your review motivated me to move them up on my TBR and maybe pick Freeks too, for a nice easy winter reading.

    Btw if you are a fan of strong female characters, check my blog, my Waiting on Wednesday post features a new release jam packed with awesome strong female characters of every age. It’s a 3 am in the morning page turner!

    Also Wheel of Time has some superb female characters, a lot of them are irritating at first but grow into wonderful strong young women as the series progresses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

