Review: Hugo Broyler by Mike Kennedy

hugo-broylerHugo Broyler
by Mike Kennedy

Goodreads | Amazon | B & N

Synopsis:

Static-levitation racing has become the most popular – and dangerous – sport of the future, and down-on-his-luck former front-runner Hugo Broyler is about to find out just how dangerous it can be, on and off the track when he takes a transportation gig from a local crimelord. To complicate matters, he suddenly finds himself haunted by the ghost of a former racing rival. Either that or he’s going crazy.
This volume includes the first full story arc from the hit online series, along with rules for a complete role playing system set within the world of Static Levitation racing, filled with sci-fi world details and concept illustrations from a wealth of top artists from around the world.

My Review:

3 of 5 Stars

I admit I had a hard time getting into this story at first because it wasn’t what I was expecting. I anticipated something a little more futuristic science fiction but and it had that element to a degree, but it wasn’t the main point of the story. It felt a little bit like Nascar with a little Bourne Identity thrown in. A few things threw me off from the start, first being the artwork. The cover doesn’t really completely portray the type of artwork you’ll find within and it wasn’t really a style that I’m drawn to. There were parts that I enjoyed but for the most part it didn’t do much for me. The character Hugo is a good example of this, I kind of wish he had been drawn somewhat differently. This is most likely a personal preference issue more than anything. I’ll even admit he fits his personality. He comes across as stubborn and angry with a mile high defensive wall built in against emotions. Perhaps because of this, he’s a hard character to relate to.

As for the story, I found the beginning a little boring. I’m not a race car fan and didn’t find it all that interesting though I was confused by his interaction with other racers. The pace did pick up fairly quickly though as we move off the official race track and into more of the action scenes. There were a few times I felt a little bit thrust into a whole world that I didn’t understand. There are quite a few introductions into the story that don’t get explained well or even at all with all the action taking place. Some of it is understandable because we are learning right along with Hugo. The parts that I wanted to know more about were, for the most part, found in the end section. There are a few pages after the story ends full of extras on various characters, companies, and more. In one way I really liked this but I can also see the value that this information would have had in the story itself rather than being introduced after.

Overall, it’s an okay story though I don’t think it’s really something that I’ll keep up with. I think anyone who is a fan of race car driving will get much more appreciation from this than I did.

I’d like to thank Diamond Book Distributors for providing me with a free galley of this graphic novel in exchange for my honest review.

 

One thought on “Review: Hugo Broyler by Mike Kennedy

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (1/01 – 1/08) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

