Reading Challenges 2017

2017challenges

Right up until mid-December I’ve been really firm that I wasn’t going to participate in challenges this year because of my track record of not keeping track of them in the past. Toward the middle of December, all my good intentions went out the window when I started seeing sign up posts. The following are the reading missions I’m accepting for the year of 2017. All the links from this post will lead to a page where I’m keeping track of my progress. Each progress page has a link directly to the challenge itself.

audiobook-challenge-2017

2017 Audiobook Challenge

I just started listening to audiobooks for the first time in 2016 and I’m really wanting to continue. I’m keeping this one easy and shooting for at least 12 audiobooks or 1 per month.

  • Stenographer (can listen while multi-tasking) 10-15

the-backlist-reader-challenge-2017-button_300x300

The Backlist Reader Challenge 2017

My TBR pile is constantly growing and I love the idea of a challenge that actually gets me to read stuff from this never ending list. I’m looking forward to utilizing my library to get through some of these. I’m going to start this challenge with 50 books but I may go up later in the year.

  • 50 backlisted books

2017-discussion-challenge3

2017 Book Blog Discussion Challenge

This is one of my favorite challenges because it gets me to be creative. I’m looking forward to creating new discussions and reading what others are sharing. I’m going a little conservative at only 12 posts or one per month.

  • Creative Conversationalist (11 – 20)

bookishresolution20171346_zpsqdjog33m

2017 Bookish Resolutions

I love the idea of this challenge because I get to include things that aren’t reading related in my goals and I get to customize it just for me. To view all of my individual resolutions visit the link above.

flightsoffantasy-2017c

FLIGHTS OF FANTASY READING CHALLENGE 2017

Fantasy has to be my favorite genre, I’m always drawn to new magical worlds. I’m going to keep this challenge a little conservative though because I want to branch out more this year.

  • 50 Fantastical Books

full-house-challenge-2017-final

FULL HOUSE READING CHALLENGE

I love the idea of a bingo card that I get to fill up through the year, I’m not sure why. The goal here is to fill the entire board.

full-house-challenge-2017-grid

gnbutton

10th Annual Graphic Novel & Manga Reading Challenge

I’ve been reading graphic novels and Magna for a few years now. I’m hoping to continue this appreciation by pushing myself to read even more this year.

  • Silver Age: read and review 52 books during the year

2017librarylovechallenge05-400x400-angelsgp

LIBRARY LOVE CHALLENGE

I absolutely adore my local library here in Austin so it only makes sense to incorporate that passion into a challenge! I’m comfortable going to the highest level with this challenge at 50+ books.

  • Library Card on Fire: read 50+ books

memoir

Memoir Bingo Reading Challenge

Again, I love the idea of a bingo card to fill out through the year. I love the idea of having one of these challenges be devoted to a specific genre, memoir’s being an excellent choice. I’m going to challenge myself with this one and go for a full house.

netflix-books_-challenge2017

2017 NETFLIX AND BOOKS CHALLENGE

I absolutely love the idea of this challenge including the elaborate point system. I’m hoping to catch up on quite a few shows on both Netflix and Hulu this year so I’m really excited.

 Whew, that’s a lot of challenges!

Are you joining in any this year? Having trouble finding a few to be interested in? I found most (if not all) of mine from the master list created by girlxoxo.com. Let me know if I’ve missed any interesting reading missions in the comments below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Reading Challenges 2017

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (12/26 – 01/01) | Glorious Panic

  2. Thanks for thinking of the Full House challenge. My those are a lot of challenges. I did manage to cut mine back a bit but made myself a goal to be more accountable through the year and at the end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

