Ten Books Still On My Mind from 2016

toptentuesdaylogo

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish featuring a list based on a theme. This week’s theme is a top ten list of our favorite books from 2016. To make this theme a bit easier we are free to customize it. I’m choosing to go with books that have stayed with me and I continue to think about long after reading them.

a-madness-so-discreet1 . A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

This is a story that has stuck with me. The mixture of mystery and action really kept me going with this. Mindy McGinnis is on my author radar for sure.

three-dark-crowns

2. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

I only recently read this so it makes sense that I’d still be thinking about it. That said, I have a feeling I’ll be thinking about it right up until I get my hands on the next book in the series. Magic, drama, just the right of romance all mix together to make an amazing story.

sleeping-giants3. Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

In a way I’m a little surprised this one has stuck with me as much as it has because it’s not the characters that are keeping me thinking but the actual story itself. I never connected that deeply with any specific character but I often think back to this as one that would spark some excellent discussion. I’m really excited to read the next book in the series as well.

flawed

4. Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

I absolutely adored this story and all of the great discussion it could possibly bring up. I’m really looking forward to the next book in the series to see where our protagonist leads us.

furiously-happy

5. Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things
by Jenny Lawson

I admit, I probably try to sneak this book into as many lists as humanly possible because of my own appreciation for it. As time goes on I think I grow to love it more. I love the artwork on the cover and all of the humor that fills this. My favorite way to read it was as an audiobook but the regular book is great as well!

saga

6. Saga by Brian K. Vaughan (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist)

I’d heard about this graphic novel series long before I sat down to actually read it. I knew it was popular and was a little skeptical. I’m so glad I finally decided to give it a try because it’s most likely my favorite graphic novel of all time. The artwork is amazing and the story line is incredibly deep compared to many other books.

menagerie

7. Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

Before reading this I didn’t really know I’d be interested in books that surround the carnival life, this changed my mind. This is what I’d call a realistic fantasy. I find myself thinking about possible outcomes in future books in the series quite often. It also sticks with me because my Mom ended up reading this book before me and she loved it as well!

more-than-this8. More Than This by Patrick Ness

First, this is the book that really got me into reading more by Patrick Ness. Second, it wasn’t anything like I went in expecting. I love books where the synopsis gives you just enough to sort of know what you are getting into but, leaves plenty to blow you away and keep you guessing. This book kept that balance spectacularly. I’m looking forward to reading even more by this author in the new year.

ready-player-one

9. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I’d read some mixed reviews of this book before I ended up deciding to read it. I noticed that people tended to either fall into one extreme or another with this story. I was hopefully skeptical and extremely pleased when I ended up adoring it. It’s true that if you don’t know much about the 80’s, a good majority of this book will seem confusing. I knew just enough to get by on and ignored references I didn’t understand.

neverwhere10. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

I’ve meant to pick up something by Neil Gaiman for quite a while. He’s an incredibly popular author, but the hype kept me away. I’m not sure why I chose this as my first from him but never have I wanted a sequel more than after this novel. I’ve read some of the mixed reviews and understand where they are coming from. If you loved Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy, this is perfect for you.

What About You?

What books keep coming up in thought for you? Any favorites from 2016 that you think absolutely everyone should read? Share with me in the comments below!

 

3 thoughts on “Ten Books Still On My Mind from 2016

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (12/26 – 01/01) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

