Review: Get Your Sh*t Together by Sarah Knight

get-your-shit-togetherGet Your Sh*t Together: How to Stop Worrying About What You Should Do So You Can Finish What You Need to Do and Start Doing What You Want to Do (A No F*cks Given Guide)
by Sarah Knight

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

The no-f*cks-given, no-holds-barred guide to living your best life. Do you ever find yourself snowed under at the office, or even just glued to the couch, when you really want to leave on time (for once), get to the gym (at last), and finally start that fun project you’re always putting off?
You’ve really got to Get Your Sh*t Together.

In The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck, “anti-guru” Sarah knight liberated you from shame, guilt, and obligations. But what about all the sh*t you do give a f*ck about your career, health, relationships, and bank account?
Now, Sarah’s back with more hilarious advice to make life easier and better. Whether your dream is to quit your day job and buy a food truck, pay off your debt, or just spend more time with your cat, Sarah cuts through the bullsh*t cycle of self-sabotage to show you how to be happy.
You’ll learn:

  • Three simple tools for getting (and keeping) your sh*t together
  • The Power of Negative Thinking
  • How to balance work and fun and save money while you’re at it
  • Ways to manage anxiety
  • And tons of other awesome sh*t!

Soon you’ll be setting real goals, crushing them, and getting out the door for happy hour every damn day.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I knew going into this book that there was a very real possibility that the swearing might be too much for me. I don’t mind cursing in general but it needs to be done right and not used as a crutch to make something funny. I found this book to be just on that borderline between ‘just enough’ and a ‘too much’. While the book didn’t really bring anything new in terms of organization to my attention, it did remind me of things I already knew in new ways.

I loved how she broke personality types between the three chipmunks from Alvin and the Chipmunks. I still have no idea which I identify with as I see myself in all of them but I found it really helpful to know these are common issues. The concept behind her organization methods are fairly simple and mostly involve prioritizing which I know from experience can help a lot. I really enjoyed her injection of humor into what could be a boring or tedious topic. I’m happy to say that I am introducing some of her ideas into my own planning and working on getting better with ‘getting my sh*t together’. I’m also really curious about her previous book, The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck.

I’m giving a big thanks to Little, Brown for providing me with a free galley of this book in exchange for my honest review.

2 thoughts on “Review: Get Your Sh*t Together by Sarah Knight

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (12/26 – 01/01) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

