Review: And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich

and-the-trees-crept-inAnd the Trees Crept In
by Dawn Kurtagich

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

Stay away from the woods…

When Silla and Nori arrive at their aunt’s home, it’s immediately clear that the manor is cursed. The endless creaking of the house at night and the eerie stillness of the woods surrounding them would be enough of a sign, but there are secrets too—questions that Silla can’t ignore: Why does it seem that, ever since they arrived, the trees have been creeping closer? Who is the beautiful boy who’s appeared from the woods? And who is the tall man with no eyes who Nori plays with in the basement at night… a man no one else can see?

My Review: 

3.5 of 5 Stars

This has to be one of the weirdest books I’ve read in quite a while. I don’t read a lot of books in the horror genre and this book is a perfect example of why. It’s insanely creepy and left me feeling very uncomfortable when I was heading to bed after reading a few chapters. I’m not sure exactly where I saw it recommended but I do know it’s one of the books that I picked to push me into reading out of my comfort zone. This is also a book that has me second guessing every DNF because I almost gave up on it during the first half but I’m so glad that I stuck with it.

In the first half of the story, there is a lot of getting to know the characters and the world which is understandable as that’s how most books are set up. At about 30% I very nearly quit because it was so weird and creepy. I wouldn’t say it was scary but it was unsettling on a variety of levels. Character wise, I didn’t really connect to Silla much. I often found her behavior and thought process confusing and even alarming. Gowan was a character that I kept going back and forth on as the story progressed. I wanted to like him so much but I was almost as suspicious as Silla. Nori is adorable but we don’t really get to know her all that well though she does make a few writing appearances throughout.

What really wins over this book for me was the ending. All of my questions, my confusion, my frustration.. it was all answered and wrapped up. Things that didn’t make sense suddenly were completely logical and I really appreciated that. While this book was well outside of what I’d normally pick out to read, I’m glad that I did. I’m learning that I can enjoy new genre’s and I’m excited to try out more!

 

 

One thought on “Review: And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (12/19 – 12/25) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

