Audio-book Review: A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig

a-boy-called-christmasA Boy Called Christmas
by Matt Haig

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

You are about to read the true story of Father Christmas.
It is a story that proves that nothing is impossible.
If you are one of those people who believe that some things are impossible, you should put this book down right away. It is most certainly not for you.
Because this book is FULL of impossible things.

Are you still reading?

Good.

Then let us begin . . .

A Boy Called Christmas is a tale of adventure, snow, kidnapping, elves, more snow, and an eleven-year-old boy called Nikolas, who isn’t afraid to believe in magic.

My Review:

4.5 of 5 Stars

My initial plan had been to listen to this story over the course of a few nights. That plan changed when I started to listen though and got immersed in this adorable story. Our main character, Nikolas, brought about an instant connection for me. It’s obvious he’s had a difficult life, and yet he remains positive and full of love. As the story progresses more and more characters are added both good and bad. As lovely and inviting as the characters are, my favorite part of this story is the message behind it.

As the description states, this book is full of impossible things. It’s all about a boy learning to believe in the impossible to make those hopes and wishes come true. I can easily see this becoming a family tradition to sit around and listen to over the holidays. I expected to enjoy it but was admitted expecting something that was geared only toward small children. That isn’t the case at all, at least for me. While it doesn’t go as far as many current animated movies with adult jokes cleverly hidden in among child safe material, I do think parents will be able to enjoy it as well.

There are a variety of lessons to be discussed from this story such as the importance of honesty, loyalty, kindness, the power of fear on our actions, greed, and more. As amazing as that message is it needs something to bring it to life. I’ve just started listening to audiobooks this year and am always a little nervous because so much depends on the person narrating the story. I was pretty sure this was going to be good with Stephen Fry reading and I was pleasantly surprised that it was even better than I’d hoped. His voice brings each character to life with a whole personality all their own.

I highly recommend¬†this title in any form to families with younger children. It’s listed as middle grade but I think even younger kids would appreciate the magic and excitement within.

I’d like to thank BloggingforBooks for providing me with a free copy of this audiobook in exchange for my honest review.

3 thoughts on “Audio-book Review: A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (12/12 – 12/18) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

