Review: The Devil’s Prayer by Luke Gracias

the-devils-prayerThe Devil’s Prayer
by Luke Gracias

Goodreads | Amazon 

Available free through Kindle Unlimited!

Synopsis:

A nun commits suicide in front of thousands in Spain. In Australia, Siobhan Russo recognizes that nun as her mother, Denise Russo, who disappeared six years ago.

In search of answers, Siobhan travels to the isolated convent where her mother once lived. Here she discovers Denise’s final confession, a book that details a heinous betrayal that left her crippled and mute, and Denise’s subsequent deal with the Devil to take revenge. In the desperate bargain Denise made with the Prince of Darkness, she wagered Siobhan’s soul.

As Siobhan discovers the fate of her soul, she learns that hidden within the pages of her mother’s confession is part of The Devil’s Prayer, an ancient text with the power to unleash apocalyptic horrors.

And now her mother’s enemies know Siobhan has it.

Can Siobhan escape an order of extremist monks determined to get the Prayer back? Can she save the world from its own destruction?

You can view the trailer here.

My Review:

2 of 5 Stars

I’ve been curious about religious thriller novels ever since I finished The Davinci Code. This curiosity combined with my recent attraction to horror had me wanting to try this story out. The premise was interesting but for a variety of reasons I don’t think this was for me.

  • The beginning of this story is fairly confusing and it took me a while to really figure out what was going on. A lot of this had to do with the shifting perspective.
  • Through the book, I never really felt like I got enough of any of the characters. I couldn’t connect to anyone on a personal level. The only character we get to know that well is Denise and I’m still confused about my feelings toward her.
  • The action in this story is slow which makes it hard to stay interested. This combined with a shifting perspective made it hard to follow along with what was happening. I wanted more from Siobhan’s perspective but didn’t get much of that.
  • What really kept me from enjoying the book the most was the combination of large information dumps which did a lot of telling instead of showing. I wanted to be able to appreciate the history that was being shared with me but found a lot of it to be tedious and found myself skimming these sections. If these had been written in a slightly more action based way instead of as sections from a journal I probably would have enjoyed the entire book much more.
  • I don’t mind blood, guts, and violence for the most part but I do want it to have a purpose. I found a lot of the graphic detail found in this novel to be over the top. It felt like it was placed more for shock value than anything of value for the plot itself. I also found myself getting desensitized to it as the book progressed which took away some of the needed tension in specific action scenes.
  • I’ve double checked on Goodreads and I see no mention that this might be part of a series but I assume that it is. The biggest reason I kept reading this was my curiosity about how things would get resolved. I got to the end and was incredibly frustrated because it has no neat wrap-up and left just about all of my questions unanswered. At this point, I’ll probably pass even if this is part of a series.

While this book wasn’t my cup of tea, I encourage others to give it a try. I’ve seen a lot of four and five-star reviews on GoodReads so this very well just be a ‘me’ thing. Even though it wasn’t a book for me, I’m glad I gave it a try!

I’d like to thank Luke Gracias, the author for providing me a galley of this book in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “Review: The Devil’s Prayer by Luke Gracias

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (12/12 – 12/18) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

