Review: Split the Sun by Tessa Elwood

split-the-sunSplit the Sun (Inherit the Stars #2)
by Tessa Elwood

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Goodreads Synopsis:

The Ruling Lord of the House of Galton is dead, and the nation is in shock—or celebrating, depending on the district. Kit Franks would be more than happy to join him. Kit’s mother bombed the digital core of the House, killing several and upending the nation’s information structure. No one wants the daughter of a terrorist. Kit lost her job, her aunt wants her evicted, her father is using her as a shield against a drug lord, a group of political rebels need Kit to ignite an interplanetary war, and the boy two floors down keeps jacking up her suicide attempts—as if she has a life worth saving.
When Mom-the-terrorist starts showing up on feeds and causing planet-wide blackouts, everyone looks to Kit for an answer. The rebels want Mom on their side. The government needs to stop Mom’s digital virus from spreading before there’s no record of government left. Both sides will do anything, destroy anyone, to make Kit crack. They believe she’s the key to Mom’s agenda and the House’s future. Worst of all, they may be right.
Kit’s having dreams she can’t explain, remembering conversations that no longer seem innocent, understanding too much coded subtext in Mom’s universal feed messages. Everyone, from Mom to the rebels, has a vision of Kit’s fate—locked, sealed, and ready to roll. The question is, does Kit have a vision for herself?
Tessa Elwood’s final book in the Inherit the Stars series introduces readers to a strong, unique heroine who must chart her own destiny against a minefield of family ambitions and political agendas.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I went into this book fairly blind because I’d only recently finished the first book in the series, Inherit the Stars. I assumed that it would be a continuation of that storyline and just skipped reading the synopsis. I had enjoyed the first book enough that I was eager to see how it continued. For the first chapter, I was fairly confused because of this. Split the Sun is almost a stand alone book and could definitely be read without the first book in the series. It’s part of the same universe but it only briefly mentions anything from the events going on outside Galton. Once I got over the fact it wasn’t just a continuation I really enjoyed this fact.

In the first book, we don’t really find much out about Galton other than it’s an enemy house that wants to invade. We don’t meet many characters from it and only get to know it in a very limited way. This book completely opens the doors to a whole new side of this universe and I actually ended up liking this book slightly more than the first for a few different reasons. First, I was able to relate to the characters more in this book right off the bat. Kit is dealing with some fairly intense emotions including suicidal ideation. I felt emotionally connected to her almost right away even when I didn’t always agree with her choices. I don’t know if it’s correct to say I enjoyed her family conflict, but it was relatable in some ways. She made some poor choices in regards to these relationships but it was always understandable as to why she did.

The romance was a bit strange to me though I did enjoy it. It’s a bit more prominent in this book as opposed to the first but still enjoyable. Rather than being an addition to the story, it’s an obvious part of the progression. As for the various twists, I saw most of them coming but that was okay. I still really enjoyed it. I’m left at the end of the book still curious to know more how about how things continue in this universe. I admit I’m a little disappointed this didn’t connect more with the first book. I’m not sure if there are more books coming in this series but I will be sure to keep my a lookout as I’m very interested!

Big thanks to Running Press for providing me with a free galley of this book in exchange for my honest review.

 

One thought on “Review: Split the Sun by Tessa Elwood

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (12/5 – 12/11) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

