Review: It Takes One by Kate Kessler

it-takes-oneIt Takes One (Audrey Harte #1)
by Kate Kessler

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

They say there are no secrets in a small town…

Criminal psychologist Audrey Harte is returning home after seven years. She’ll have to face the whispers and the rumors that have haunted her family since she left. Because when Audrey was thirteen, she and her best friend Maggie killed Maggie’s abusive father.

Her first night back in town ends in a fight with a drunken Maggie, with her old crush Jake to witness it all. Audrey can’t believe it can get worse.

Then Maggie turns up dead.

Now, Audrey has to find out who the murderer is – before everyone decides that she is to blame. And before the murderer can set their sights on her.

It Takes One is the first in a brand new thriller series where a criminal psychologist uses her own dark past to help law enforcement catch dangerous killers.

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars
I’ve been reading a lot more thrillers lately and this one seemed perfect. Audrey is one of those characters that isn’t easy to like at first. She’s negative, judgemental, incredibly reserved, and has a major temper issue. I was able to stick with it because it’s obvious that some of these traits have been learned to survive. I spent a good part of my adolescence in a small town and while it wasn’t as close-knit as the town depicted in this book, it was filled with gossip and I hated it. I felt for her through the whole story even when her behavior frustrated me. Sometimes it felt like she purposefully put herself in danger through illogical behavior that made no sense to me. The rest of the characters are just as iffy. I’m still not sure how to feel about Jake even though the romance involved in this story was perfect for me. It felt like it added and even supported the ongoing story along rather than taking over or feeling ‘extra’.

two-can-playThe best part about this book is how it continuously kept me guessing about a variety of things. Maggie plays an important role even if she herself isn’t present for most of the book. As the story unraveled I was able to question a wide variety of characters, second guessing my previous theories. I don’t often read a book that has me wondering until the very end. It wasn’t that I didn’t see the ending coming but that it was really only one possible outcome among many that I was predicting.

three-strikesThe book wraps up nicely enough that I don’t feel like I’m starving for the next book. It also leaves quite a few open threads that leave me really curious about how things will continue as the series progresses. I want to see how the characters continue to grow as individuals and how their choices impact each other. The next book, Two Can Play is already published and available while the third book, Three Strikes has a release date of June 20th, 2017.
Big thanks to Bighook Books, the publisher, for providing me with a galley of this book in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “Review: It Takes One by Kate Kessler

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Wrap (11/28 – 12/4) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

