Review: Inherit the Stars by Tessa Elwood

inherit-the-starsInherit the Stars (Inherit the Stars #1)
by Tessa Elwood

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

Three royal houses ruling three interplanetary systems are on the brink of collapse, and they must either ally together or tear each other apart in order for their people to survive.

Asa is the youngest daughter of the house of Fane, which has been fighting a devastating food and energy crisis for far too long. She thinks she can save her family’s livelihood by posing as her oldest sister in an arranged marriage with Eagle, the heir to the throne of the house of Westlet. The appearance of her mother, a traitor who defected to the house of Galton, adds fuel to the fire, while Asa also tries to save her sister Wren’s life . . . possibly from the hands of their own father.

But as Asa and Eagle forge a genuine bond, will secrets from the past and the urgent needs of their people in the present keep them divided?

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

I loved the premise of this but the actual story took quite a while to grow on me for one specific reason. The main character, Asa, drove me absolutely crazy for a vast majority of the book. She’s a character that I sort of ride the fence on. I love how incredibly flawed and human she is but on the other hand, her fumbling is intensely frustrating. She’s not confident in her decisions even when it’s something she’s passionate about. She’s incredibly quick to take the blame for everything, even things that are beyond her control. Her character bugged me so much that there were a few moments, especially in the beginning when I contemplated quitting the book. I wasn’t really connecting with anyone and I was annoyed.

I pushed on however out of curiosity. While I’ve read quite a few dystopian novels this one felt different than the norm and I wanted to give it another chance. I don’t think I really began to enjoy the book until it was about halfway through. I began seeing growth in Asa and I really enjoyed getting to know the new characters being introduced along the way. Eagle never frustrated me in the same way that Asa did but in some ways I found him to be a little cliche. He’s a very distant and reserved guy which makes it hard to get to know him. I wouldn’t classify him as the ‘bad boy gone good’.  He’s this odd mixture of obedient and rebellious that makes it hard to know what his next move might be. I actually really began to like him, especially as the pace of the story started picking up.

split-the-sunI’m not a huge fan of romance so I’m always a bit hesitant to get involved in a series that’s put in that category. I’m happy to say I felt like there was just the right amount in this book. It’s there but it doesn’t overwhelm the rest of the story and none of the characters are changing just for that. I found it pretty refreshing and I’m hoping the author is able to maintain that balance with the rest of the series. I’m looking forward to reading Split the Sun, the second book in the series which is due to be published on December 6th.

Big thanks to Perseus Books Group for providing me a galley of this book in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “Review: Inherit the Stars by Tessa Elwood

  1. Pingback: Sunday Wrap Up (11/21 – 11/27) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

