Review: The Hawkweed Prophecy by Irena Brignull

the-hawkweed-prophecyThe Hawkweed Prophecy
by Irena Brignull

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Synopsis:

Poppy Hooper and Ember Hawkweed couldn’t lead more different lives. Poppy is a troubled teen: moving from school to school, causing chaos wherever she goes, never making friends or lasting connections. Ember is a young witch, struggling to find a place within her coven and prove her worth. Both are outsiders: feeling like they don’t belong and seeking escape.

Poppy and Ember soon become friends, and secretly share knowledge of their two worlds. Little do they know that destiny has brought them together: an ancient prophecy, and a life-changing betrayal. Growing closer, they begin to understand why they’ve never belonged and the reason they are now forever connected to each other.

Switched at birth by the scheming witch Raven Hawkweed, Poppy and Ember must come to terms with their true identities and fight for their own place in the world. Enter Leo, a homeless boy with a painful past who – befriending them both – tests their love and loyalty. Can Poppy and Ember’s friendship survive? And can it withstand the dark forces that are gathering?

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I’m often drawn to stories that revolve around magic and I was really curious about the potential friendship involved in this story. The magic was everything I expected and wanted. I appreciated how there were different types of magic that showed differently in each character. I also was able to connect with quite a few of the characters for a variety of different reasons. My heart broke for both Poppy and Ember as they each seemed to be forever stuck in circumstances that were out of their control. They each belonged to a culture that they didn’t fit in due to Raven’s actions at their birth.

Raven is an interesting character who is on the surface an obvious villain but underneath all of that, it was wonderful to get to know her as a character and see her motivations. I don’t think I ever really grew to like her but I did find myself very sympathetic toward her on occasion even if she was the one making her own mess.

What I loved most about this story was how every single character was flawed in some very profound way. Raven was the most obvious with her overt attacks on everyone around her as well as her scheming and manipulative behavior. Sorrel, Ravens daughter, was much the same, having been trained to be just as vindictive and as her mother. The only character I’m kind of on the fence about is Leo. I liked him as a character but didn’t appreciate the addition of romance to the story. I would have preferred more magic or just a friendship story. I see how it fit in but it didn’t really work for me, especially how that part of the story wrapped up. That said, I did love the way the book itself ended and highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys magic and witches in a slightly fairy tale sort of writing.

Big thanks to Weinstein Books, the publisher, for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “Review: The Hawkweed Prophecy by Irena Brignull

  1. Pingback: Sunday Wrap Up (11/21 – 11/27) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

