Author Spotlight: Jenny Lawson

furiously-happyWhile I was participating in Inktober I decided to check out audio books and one of the first I found on my libraries website was Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson. I’d seen the cover before and had fallen in love with it especially when in the synopsis it described her discussing her struggles with mental illness. I hadn’t really given much thought to the title however which I now find a bit strange because it’s awesome.

One of the reasons my blog’s name is “Glorious Panic” is that I’ve been making this intentional choice to accept my own mental health issues and ‘glorify in my panic’ so to speak. It’s a mentality that takes “it is what it is” to the extreme. I’ve managed to find quite a lot of benefits to my many issues because of this. Furiously Happy is a bit the same. The way she described it made me think of the days when I get so frustrated with myself that I get this attitude in my head of “I’m going to be happy no matter what!”

lets-pretendThe book is hilarious, heartwarming, somewhat alarming, and comforting all at once. I walked away from it much more interested in taxidermy than I ever thought possible. I also felt like I’d listened to someone who might just sort of understand the things I’m trying to say even on my worst days when my brain is trying it’s best to kill me.

Right after I was finished with Furiously Happy I went looking for her first book. I needed to hear more of her stories, more of the ridiculous stuff she says that still somehow makes sense to me. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir was just as hilarious and filled with heartwarming, alarming, and comforting stories and tangents that I adored. I highly recommend both of these in either the regular book or audio book formats.

you-are-hereAfter you’ve read or listened to both books you can also follow  her posting on her website – The Bloggess and feel free to join me as I await her next book (You Are Here: An Owner’s Manual for Dangerous Minds)  which according to GoodReads is expected to be published in March of 2017. I’m super excited because it’s a book of her drawings which can be colored in. I’ve got my colored pencils ready!

 

2 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Jenny Lawson

  1. Pingback: Ten Books Still On My Mind from 2016 | Glorious Panic

  2. Pingback: You Are Here: An Owner’s Manual for Dangerous Minds by Jenny Lawson | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

