The Ever Expanding TBR Pile

toptentuesday

I routinely say that instead of continuing to add more books to my TBR shelf I’ll focus on reading and decreasing the size of that pile. That’s my intention and my goal and yet my TBR list on Goodreads does not ever get smaller, it only gets larger. This week I’m sharing some of the titles I’ve recently added. I’ll also be adding, even more, most likely by checking out what everyone else is posting over at The Broke and Bookish.

zombies

  1. Zombies Vs. Unicorns (The Forest of Hands and Teeth 0.4)
    by Holly Black, Justine Larbalestier, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Maureen Johnson, Carrie Ryan, Scott Westerfeld, Meg Cabot, Garth Nix, Kathleen Duey, Margo Lanagan, Naomi Novik, Diana Peterfreund, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare – I’ve only recently really started dipping my toe into these short story anthologies but this collection of authors combined with zombies and unicorns makes this a must try for me.diabolic
  2. The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid – Based on the synopsis this seems like a really interesting combination of other books I’ve really enjoyed. I admit that the fact it’s a standalone book instead of yet another trilogy or longer series also draws my attention.the-hallowed-ones
  3. The Hallowed Ones (The Hallowed Ones #1) by Laura Bickle – Horror is a fairly new series for me to be interested in as previously I’ve stayed away from it. The Amish plus vampires and dystopia equals horror that may just be right for me.arena
  4. Arena (Arena #1) by Holly Jennings – While I don’t spend as much time now as I used to I still consider myself a pretty avid gamer. This book revolves around professional gaming that’s so immersive the players feel real pain from injuries and even deaths in game.
  5. glass-sentenceThe Glass Sentence (The Mapmakers Trilogy #1) by S.E. Grove – I add just about everything that deals with time or dimensional travel automatically to my list. I love the adventure concept and even though the historical aspect makes me a little hesitant I’m looking forward to giving this series a shot.bone-witch
  6. The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch #1) by Rin Chupeco – I was first attracted to this book by the cover and then the words “accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead” in the synopsis had me automatically clicking “Want to Read”. Now I just have to wait until March 7th to get my hands on a copy.furthermore
  7. Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi – I kept hearing about this book and ignoring it even though I was in love with the cover because it’s classified as a middle-grade novel which for some unknown reason makes me hesitate. I haven’t stopped hearing about it however and I’m taking this as a sign from the bookish universe that I really need to give it a shot. Plus it’s all about magic and I’ve heard it has a lot of whimsy which I adore.berserk-1
  8. Berserk by Kentaro Miura, Jason DeAngelis (Translator) – I’m actively trying to incorporate more manga in my reading because I’m really enjoying it. This is a series that’s been recommended to me so I’ll be checking it out once I’m caught up with the ones I’m currently reading.crosstalk
  9. Crosstalk by Connie Willis – This story explores the idea of being able to sense the emotions of your loved ones. I consider myself an empath so I can in a way already do this but on a much more subdued level than this book seems to portray. I love the idea of exploring personal privacy versus the yearning that others could truly understand my daily experience. damned
  10. Damned (Damned #1) by Chuck Palahniuk – I’m really curious about the humorous adventure this book will surely be. I also admit I’m both intrigued and skeptical about a book that portrays anyone as dying of a ‘marijuana overdose’. I need to know what that’s about.

 

10 thoughts on “The Ever Expanding TBR Pile

    • I often do the same thing with books that are really popular, wait for some of the hype to calm down before I read them. Chances are I’ll end up doing the same with this one as well. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    • I was the same way with Furthermore for quite a while but I’ve continued to see it so I’m going to give it a try at some point. I’m a bit skeptical but hopeful it will be better than expected. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

