5 Things on Sunday: Allergies

5thingsonsunday

5 Things On Sunday, is a weekly meme created by Kendra at Reads and Treats that explores a variety of topics that break away from just the ‘bookish’. You can find out more and find the upcoming topics by visiting Kendra’s blogThis weeks theme is all about allergies. I’m not really allergic to that much myself so I’m going to focus on my main allergy – gluten. The following is a list of the biggest hassles that come with not being able to eat gluten.

  1. Cost is the biggest hassle I’ve come up against with my gluten allergy. I’m lucky enough to live in both an area and in a general time when more and more worthwhile products are being created to serve the gluten free community. The problem is I used to be able to buy a loaf of bread for $1. Now a loaf of bread at half the size that I have to keep frozen costs $5. Pasta, cookies, cake, and flour are all much more expensive as well.
  2. Cardboard, mush, and grit are not great textures when it comes to food. I’ve finally found a few gluten-free items that work alright but it’s come after alot of different purchases. Many gluten free bread’s and even pizza dough I’ve tried has a weird cardboard texture. Countless pasta’s, especially those with corn in them, simply turn to some weird gummy mush. Cookies on the other hand often have a gritty texture sort of like sand.
  3. Going out to eat is a major pain. I rarely go out to eat to begin with because it’s expensive but with a gluten allergy, some restaurant’s have no options at all while a vast majority have very few options. Fast food is extremely limited which is probably a good thing health wise but also a bummer when I’m out with family and everyone else is getting an easy and cheap dinner and I can’t.
  4. It took me a while to really learn what I can’t eat as before I realized I had this issue with gluten I didn’t really pay attention to it. In that sense, I completely get why people who don’t have this as a problem get so confused by what I can and can’t eat. I try to be patient and understanding and not paranoid that someone will unintentionally land me in the ER through a home made meal. I also try and take deep breaths when I have to answer the question “Can you eat _______?” over and over again.
  5. I spend a ton of time reading every single food label because who knows where wheat flour might pop up next. I’ve found it in bags of shredded cheese, gummy candy, seasoning packets, bullion cubes, and more. I’ve gotten to the point where it doesn’t surprise me as much anymore to find gluten in an odd product but it still disappoints me.

If you have an allergy let me know what it’s like in the comments below. If you don’t have any allergies, I’m slightly jealous, and am curious to know what you think the worst possible allergy would be?

Leave a Reply

