Graphic Novel and Magna Reviews (01)

white-collarWhite Collar: A Novel in Linocuts
by Giacomo Patri

Goodreads | Amazon | B & N  

My Review:

3 of 5 Stars

Honestly, I don’t even really feel qualified to review this graphic novel since even after going through it three times quite a lot of it probably went over my head. I readily admit that I don’t know a lot about this segment of American history and the wordless nature of the story left a lot of it pretty open. That being said the heartache and stress of the depression era was portrayed incredibly well. The artwork wasn’t a style I am normally drawn to but it depicted the gravity of the circumstances perfectly. Overall if this is a part of history you are interested in I highly recommend giving this graphic novel a try. It’s piqued my interest and I’ll be doing further reading in the future to explore this topic more.

worry-dollWorry Doll
by Matt Coyle

Goodreads | Amazon | B & N

My Review:

1 of 5 Stars

I really dislike giving one star reviews because generally if I’m able to finish something it’s at least worthy of two. Anything that merits a single star generally ends up in my DNF pile and I generally don’t fully review books I can’t even finish. This graphic novel was short enough and confusing enough that I found myself getting through it. First, if there was a plot or story line or anything that connected it together other than the artwork.. I missed it. The book alternates between text and photos making it almost come across in the style of a silent movie. I never understood any of the text which felt rambly and lacked any cohesive quality to bring it all together. The artwork was just oddly creepy and didn’t seem to connect to the text. It was incredibly unnerving but without any purpose. I’m fine with creepy and scary if it has a reason to be so but this felt more.. random and pointless. I fully admit I probably just completely missed something with this graphic novel but I have absolutely no urge to try and figure it out. If you’ve read it and understand it more than me, feel free to let me know!

fairy-tailFairy Tail
by Hiro Mashima, William Flanagan (Translator)

Goodreads | Amazon | B & N

My Review: 

5 of 5 Stars

I’ve been trying to focus on reading Magna that’s a little less well known so I’ve put reading this one off for quite a while. I had heard a lot of hype about Fairy Tail so was skeptical at best. After having read it however, it’s probably one of my favorite magna that I’ve read so far. I absolutely love the magic that’s involved and how different characters have unique styles. The characters are also instantly likable and I’ve connected with them easily. The story is a great mix of action and humor which I find to be a great balance. Finally, I absolutely adore the artwork as it’s a style that I’d love to be able to one day attempt myself. I really highly recommend this series to absolutely anyone who enjoys magna of any variety. The best part is that this is an ongoing story line that I’m looking forward to reading more of!

the-story-of-my-titsThe Story of My Tits
by Jennifer Hayden

Goodreads | Amazon | B & N

My Review:

3 of 5 Stars

This was an inspiring story and I really appreciated the humor in light of such a series topic. I wish I had more to say about it and that I liked it more because I’d love to see more stories about women going through the battle of breast cancer. It’s not that I didn’t like this I just wasn’t swayed in either direction with it. The artwork is cute but it’s not my favorite style. I can’t help but wonder if I’d have appreciated this book more if it were a regular book with random illustrations rather than a complete graphic novel. That being said I do think I’m in the minority with my interpretation of the book so I highly recomend completely ignoring my review and checking it out for yourself!

through-the-woodsThrough the Woods
by Emily Carroll

Goodreads | Amazon | B & N

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I’ve both been trying to explore more graphic novels as inspiration for my own art and trying to incorporate scarier or horror themed items for the Halloween season. When I saw this at the library I had to check it out – the combination of the artwork, the spooky theme, and the beautiful glossy pages had me sold. I’m happy to say this is perfect for those wanting something with a darker haunting theme. The artwork is really what’s sold me, probably even more than the stories themselves. The dark grunge style mixed with the somewhat sketchy design really lends itself well to the atmosphere that each story is trying to create. As much as I liked the book the fact that it’s a collection of very short stories is what kept this from being a five-star rating for me. I left each section kind of wanting to know more about that story and feeling unsatisfied that instead I was being dropped into something else. That being said I freely admit that’s a personal preference and not really anything to do with the book itself. I’m just not a huge fan of shorter stories. If you like this style of writing, I highly recommend this as a graphic novel to peruse while waiting between Trick or Treaters on October 31st.

Big thanks to the various publishers on Netgalley for providing me with free copies of White Collar, Baby Doll, and The Story of my Tits in exchange for my honest review. I was compensated in no other manner and my opinion was not affected in any way.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

