Review: Machinations Series by Hayley Stone

machinations
Machinations & Counterpart
by Hayley Stone

Goodreads Synopsis for book #1:

The machines have risen, but not out of malice. They were simply following a command: to stop the endless wars that have plagued the world throughout history. Their solution was perfectly logical. To end the fighting, they decided to end the human race.

counterpartA potent symbol of the resistance, Rhona Long has served on the front lines of the conflict since the first Machinations began—until she is killed during a rescue mission gone wrong. Now Rhona awakens to find herself transported to a new body, complete with her DNA, her personality, even her memories. She is a clone . . . of herself.

Trapped in the shadow of the life she once knew, the reincarnated Rhona must find her place among old friends and newfound enemies—and quickly. For the machines are inching closer to exterminating humans for good. And only Rhona, whoever she is now, can save them.

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

I’m a bit mixed about how to review this series for a variety of reasons. I’m engaged enough with the story line that I know I’ll probably continue with it when the next book comes out but not enough to feel book deprived since it will most likely be a long wait.

I love the whole concept of a robotic war even if it’s an idea that’s been done in a ton of ways already. I was able to really enjoy the science fiction aspect to the story line and am fascinated by the idea of the various types of robots. I’ve gone as far as to be interested in trying my hand at drawing some of them for #inktober. I’ve also been able to connect to some of the characters to a degree though not always the main characters.

 

Connecting with the characters has been a bit more difficult for me, especially with the main character Rhona. Throughout the story I alternate between really liking her and being frustrated by some of her choices. I was equally back and forth on the romance that intertwines in each book. In a way, I love the passion that is obvious in both her romantic and platonic relationships. I didn’t even really mind the almost but not quite love triangle though I did get annoyed by the overt but not direct reference to the ‘friend zone’ (a concept I don’t really believe in). On the other hand, I came to this party for apocalyptic warfare with vicious machines and the possible end of humanity. I get that there needs to be a pause and something to break this up but often it felt more of a distraction than a worthwhile addition.

My biggest issue with the story was how much of an idol Rhona becomes. She’s also mistrusted, second guessed, and generally harassed by those who are closest to her so I suppose it evens out somewhat. I never really figured out why she was so good as the figurehead of the movement. I get that something like that is needed but I never understood why Rhona was the exact right person for the job. I don’t dislike her and especially after the second book I have all kinds of new respect for how far she’ll go to do what’s right. I don’t idolize her though and it’s hard to see her in that light.

Overall I still highly recommend the series for those who appreciate science fiction. While I do have some issues with the story I am looking forward to getting my hands on the next book. Sadly there isn’t even a placeholder on goodreads for the next book as of my post so we are currently in the dark for a release date but if it’s anything compared to the space between the first two we won’t be waiting too horribly long.

I received both of these books as ARC’s through NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the books and I was compensated in no other manner.

One thought on “Review: Machinations Series by Hayley Stone

  1. Sounds like a mixed bag, but I do like the premise. And I like anything with cloning in it, seems like. The character issues might distract me a bit too, after all like you said if it’s a post apoc about robots then you kinda expect lots of action and that kinda stuff. Still it might be worth a try. Nice review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

