Series Review : Vampire Acadamy

vampireacadamyVampire Acadamy Series ( Six Books )

by Richelle Mead

Goodreads Synopsis:

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir’s Academy, a school for vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger . . . and the Strigoi are always close by.

Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever . . .

Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble

My Review: 

4 of 5 Stars

I pretty much devoured these books once I started reading them. I like to think of them sort of as ‘junk food for my brain’. Especially toward the beginning of the series I was able to predict a lot of the twists and turns though it still kept me interested in spite of this. As the series progressed I really appreciated how most common cliche’s found in young adult were avoided. For example, while there is some idealized romance it’s not (in my own opinion) the ‘instalove’ that I’ve come to dread in young adult literature. The only real issue I had was how much it focused on the romantic side of the story. If you aren’t into that kind of a premise this probably isn’t the book for you.

What really kept me going was how involved I got with the various characters – which there seem to be plenty of. We read the entire story from Rose’s perspective but because of the connection they share we also are able to get a peek from Lissa’s point of view. I absolutely loved this because it gave us a way to find out information we wouldn’t have had any other way. Most books I’ve read fix this by having an alternating point of view narration which is okay when done correctly but I found this to be a quite refreshing change from the ordinary. Rose herself is an okay character but I admit I frequently grew frustrated with her. All of her flaws made sense but I was repeatedly sighing and muttering under my breath in her direction. Lissa was an okay character as well but to be honest not my favorite. I did appreciate her growth through the series but always felt she was just a bit shallow.

The characters I really fell for first however was Dimitri who through the series remained my favorite. If anything he’s probably too good and somewhat unrealistic because of that. This brings me to my other favorite character who is almost the opposite of Dimitri and perhaps a little overly flawed. Adrian is the bad boy that could potentially be a great guy under the right circumstances. He’s got a lot of growth potential but often falls back to drinking and self-pitying sarcasm to get by.

Overall I really enjoyed the series which I didn’t completely expect to happen. It’s not the best series of books I’ve ever read but it was incredibly fun and suspenseful. If you enjoy romance and vampires I highly recommend giving this series a try. It’s an easy and fairly quick read that will definitely immerse you in an interesting and unique world. If you finish this series and still want more of the world you are in luck as well as there is a spinoff series – Bloodlines which takes a few of the characters from this series on a whole new adventure!

 

3 thoughts on “Series Review : Vampire Acadamy

  1. I’m one of the few people who didn’t care all that much about Dimitri. Not that I didn’t like him, but I just didn’t feel all that passionately about him one way or the other. But I did really enjoy the series. This reminds me that I need to finish the Bloodlines series – I still have at least two books to go (maybe three!).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My only experience with Vampire academy is the movie (although as a blogger I know about the books, of course), and even though I know the movie was kind of sucky it was also fun in a campy way. I imagine the books are much better and the movie did make me curious for the books…

    Like

  3. Pingback: Fast Reads and Binge-Worthy Books | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

