Review : Just Add Watercolor by Helen Birch

JustADDwatercolorJust Add Watercolor by Helen Birch

Goodreads Synopsis: 

A beautifully illustrated, easy-to-navigate guide to creating contemporary watercolors, pairing full-page paintings with insights and tips for artists.
Featuring 200 of the best works of young, modern watercolor painters, paired with bite-sized painting tips and art instruction, Just Add Watercolor gives aspiring artists access to information about–and examples of–top work in the medium. Artist and instructor Helen Birch breaks down each painting by techniques, subject matter, and tools, providing art enthusiasts and painters with a one-stop resource and gallery of the best that modern watercolor has to offer. Its small trim size with one painting per spread provides a bold, but user-friendly alternative to traditional, process-heavy painting instruction texts. Just Add Watercolor shines the spotlight on featured paintings, while still giving readers all the insights needed to get started painting in this popular medium.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

My Review:

I’ve put this review off for quite a while simply because I am having such mixed thoughts about it. If I hadn’t gone into the book with the expectation of learning I’d probably not be at all disappointed. The size and style of the book are great for a coffee table book or quick page through when looking for inspiration. That being said while I got some tips, I didn’t get anywhere near the tutorial level I’d wanted in a watercolor book. I love the idea of watercolor and have been experimenting when I have free time and to be honest, this book didn’t help at all as a beginner. It’s a great piece in terms of fanning the creative flame and I’ll most likely use it for such in the future. I love the artwork and highly recommend the book as long as you aren’t looking for tutorials or anything that will be teaching you how to achieve the styles represented within.

I received this book free from Blogging for Books in exchange for my review. This had no impact on my thoughts or feelings about the book and I received no other compensation.

Leave a Reply

