Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads Synopsis:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

Beauty and the Beast has to be my favorite fairy tale in existence. Because of this I had some high hopes for this book. While it still doesn’t quite measure up to the wonderful Disney movie of my childhood, it was a really enjoyable read and I’m painfully anticipating the sequel!

The Glorious

  • This fairy tale actually has faeries! I loved this aspect especially since these aren’t just the ordinary cliche fae that appear in a number of books. They are a race and a culture all their own and I appreciated the level of detail I got in knowing them.
  • The world building was amazing as well as the background story and history with the war. I’ve read some other books recently where I really wanted this added information but didn’t get it. The really special part of this world building however was that it didn’t feel like it dragged on forever. I didn’t feel like I was reading to ‘catch up’ to current events. I don’t necessarily mind this but it’s nice when a plot keeps moving while I’m learning.
  • I fully believe that all villains need a backstory. I need to know why they are evil, what drove them to where they are, all of that heart breaking stuff. The Glorious side of this is that we get a bit of this, and yes – it broke my heart. The nice balance though is that while I knew the villains story to a degree, I still could glorify in hating her.

The Somewhat Glorious

  • Feyre kind of drove me crazy through the book. I wanted to just shake her to get her out of her own  head. That being said, her behavior was completely normal given her circumstances and history. I did find it amazing how much she really grew by the end of the book and how her new knowledge, wisdom and experience will work in the continuing story.

The Not so Glorious (for me)

  • I am not a big romance person. I tend to shy away from anything that involves too much mushy, lovey-dovey, googley eyed, maidens in distress, swooning under the moonlit sky.. stuff. With this it’s not that I didn’t like it but at times it just felt a little over the top. In some moments it pushed me a bit away from the story because I was just rolling my eyes. Again, this is really just a personal preference. If you enjoy the romance with the electric arms touching, breath gasping across a crowded room.. thing, you will completely adore this.

 

Leave a Reply

