Review: A History of Glitter and Blood

A History of Glitter and Blood
by Hannah Moskowitz

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Beckan and her friends are the only fairies brave enough to stay in Ferrum when war breaks out. Now there is tension between the immortal fairies, the subterranean gnomes, and the mysterious tightropers who arrived to liberate the fairies.

But when Beckan’s clan is forced to venture into the gnome underworld to survive, they find themselves tentatively forming unlikely friendships and making sacrifices they couldn’t have imagined. As danger mounts, Beckan finds herself caught between her loyalty to her friends, her desire for peace, and a love she never expected.

This stunning, lyrical fantasy is a powerful exploration of what makes a family, what justifies a war, and what it means to truly love.

My Review: 

3 of 5 Stars

This was possibly the weirdest most unusual book I’ve ever read. Several times I almost DNF’d it but the sheer absurdity of it kept me going. I was first pulled to the book honestly.. faeries and glitter, you can’t beat that right? That screams “look at the shiny” all over it. But then I started reading.

the-fuck-is-thisThese Faeries are immortal but they get eaten by gnomes they just sort of put up with being around. Well, parts of them get eaten. Legs, Arms, Ears.. but the really, really weird part is something else.  I won’t divulge the weirdness, but I promise you it was creepy.

My biggest actual issue with the book was that this is really meant to be young adult fiction but the content is fairly .. explicit. The F Bomb is used a lot. A lot isn’t really even a good measurement of how much swearing is really in the book – far more than I felt necessary to be honest but, eh. Second, there is a lot of sex. Not just regular sex either – prostitution with drug use as a nice little bonus.

huh-faceI’m still not really sure what to think of this book because it was so.. odd. I’m not sure if I liked it. I’m giving it three stars mostly because I’m amazed at it’s ability to completely baffle me. I did also really enjoy the artwork which is really good at least to me. I would have ranked it higher had there been a little more world building or perhaps something more about the war itself. Alas, I still have no idea where this really takes place which is a bit bothersome.

This is not a book for everyone. In fact I’d probably say most people will not like this book. That being said if you enjoy the strange and bizarre you might enjoy this story if you can manage your way around the alternative writing style (and not get offended by copious amounts of teen swearing, sex, and drug use).

This book was provided free from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

Leave a Reply

