Review: God is With You Every Day By Max Lucado

God Is With You Every Day
By Max Lucado
Published by Thomas Nelson

Description:

 

It’s easier to face the day when you know God is with you.

God Is With You Every Day is a brand-new 365-day devotional from Max Lucado, and his first new devotional since the creation of the Grace for the Moment® line. Max’s signature reassuring and encouraging voice, paired with the practical, relevant, and personal message that God is with you every day, makes a great way to start each day of the year.

This devotional begins each week with a prayer and scripture, followed by six days of devotions and scripture for reflection. Weaving messages of comfort, grace, and encouragement, this book is wonderful for anyone who wants a fresh infusion of faith to start each day, as well as those walking through difficult seasons of life such as loneliness, grief, or change.

You can face each day with courage – because God is with you.

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

About the Author2737

More than 120 million readers have found inspiration and encouragement in the writings of Max Lucado. He lives with his wife, Denalyn, and their mischievous mutt, Andy, in San Antonio, Texas, where he serves the people of Oak Hills Church.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I’ve recently begun really exploring my faith again and have a number of devotionals that motivate me on a daily basis. I find these to be great when I need something small, especially in the morning or sometimes right before bed. I’ve read other books by Max Lucado and always enjoyed his writing style so I knew I wanted to try this one.

The first thing I noticed when I had the book in my hands is the incredible quality of it. I have a few devotionals that aren’t bound all that well and after only a month or two these tend to start looking a little worn – often with damaged spines. I can tell this won’t be an issue for this devotional and that it will most likely hold up through out the year for multiple reasons. First, it’s got a thick and almost plush cover which gives it a good bit of weight. Second, the spine is very solid. I admit I’m hardly an expert on book binding but I can tell extra thought was put into this. Rather than just being glued I believe it has a sewn binding complete with a bookmark ribbon. Which brings me to my third item. I love the fact that it comes with a ribbon to hold my place. Sure you can grab a scrap piece of paper or a bookmark but I constantly lose these and traditionally sized bookmarks are often too big for the regular devotional sized book. Being able to just open right up to the day I’m at is a huge plus.

Now for content which has me a bit on the fence. Don’t get me wrong – it’s great content. Every day comes with a bit of scripture and a bit of writing that pertains to it. Certain days also feature prayers. Also helpful is a full topic and scripture index included in the back. I’ve loved a few days that I’ve read and others just feel like they miss the mark for me personally. It’s not bad, just not necessarily fitting for my life right now. That being said as I read through it I knew several others who would get much more out of this devotional than me (and I’ll be passing it on as a stocking stuffer to my lovely sister).

I don’t think you can go wrong with this devotional. It really is beautiful, enjoyable to hold, and contains some great ideas. These books I like to think of as snacks for the soul – and this fills that description perfectly.

This book was provided free from the publisher through BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

Leave a Reply

