Review: The Witches of Blackbrook by Tish Thawer

WitchesThe Witches of Blackbrook

by Tish Thawer

Goodreads Synopsis:

Through space and time, sisters entwined. Lost then found, souls remain bound.
Three sisters escape the Salem witch trials when the eldest casts a spell that hurtles their souls forward through time. After centuries separated, fate has finally reunited them in the present day.
One the healer, one the teacher, and one the deceiver.
Will their reunion return their full powers, or end their souls journey forever?

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

Starting in the very first few pages while getting to know the characters Trin and Kit I was instantly reminded of the television show Charmed.  Because of this I instantly began picturing Trin as one of the sisters from the show.

After not long I realized the comparison didn’t fit as well as I’d thought at first but the picture had been set in my mind.  Since I absolutely adore the show I really enjoyed this mental imagery.  I was able to get a ‘visual’ sense of some of the magic which made my reading experience even better!

The story seems very character driven to me and a lot of the twists of the story were very predictable.  A few times this got a bit tiring and I wanted to just get on with it already.  I did enjoy finding out we got to the various different parts of the story.  Plus there was one surprise that I didn’t see coming which I was happy about.

I enjoyed the magical side of the story and would have loved to have had more of that.  I wanted further explanation of the powers that each of the sisters had.  I could have done without the over the top romance which felt almost syrupy sweet to me.   It’s not that I didn’t like it at all but there were times it went over into the extreme and pushed me away from the story a little.

Overall it was a great read which held my attention through the suspense.  I knew where it would most likely end up but enjoyed finding out how it did so.  For me, this was a book completely focused on the journey rather than a race to find out the conclusion.  Fans of romance and magic or interesting spin offs to historical events like the Salem Witch Trials should give this a try.

This eGalley was provided free from the author through Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

ButtonXBT

Leave a Reply

