They’re Not Like Us Graphic Novel Review

notlikeusThey’re Not Like Us

by Eric Stephenson, Simon Gane, Jordie Bellaire (Artist)

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Goodreads Synopsis:

Eisner-nominated NOWHERE MEN writer ERIC STEPHENSON teams up with red-hot artist SIMON GANE for an all-new ongoing series! We all have advantages over one another, but what if you were capable of things most of us can only imagine? What would you do – and who would you be? A doctor? An athlete? A soldier? A hero? Everyone has to make a choice about how to use the abilities they’re born with… but they’re not like us.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

They’re Not Like Us reminds me of a number of things I’ve seen on TV especially Alphas and specific plot points in Agents of Shield.  Even though my mind instantly went to those places it felt very different.  These are individuals who have been through an incredible amount of hardship just for being themselves – merely existing with these gifts.  I loved the exploration of fairly heavy topics like morality and revenge, how a painful past heavily influences ones future choices.

The Glorious Points

  • The characters from good to bad were very engaging.  I was interested in each one of them including the ones who annoyed me.  I ended up with some strong feelings about how they interacted and certain personalities.  This led to the story being very immersive.
  • The artwork blended perfectly with the story to the point there were times I forgot I was reading and this wasn’t a tv show!  It was a wonderful blend of novel and artwork.
  • I can’t say enough about how much I appreciated the styling of the characters.  Syd was hands down my favorite of the bunch though this might have changed had I been given the opportunity to know the others more.

The Not as Glorious

  • I loved the characters but also didn’t feel I truly got enough of anyone other than The Voice and Syd.  The main character is Syd so it was understandable that there was far more of her in it than the others.  My craving though is to have separate issues from each characters perspective.  It would be interesting to see things from the eyes of Masie or even The Voice who I got to know somewhat.  I’d also be curious to know some of the others more as I felt like we got barely anything from them.
  •  While I loved the artwork and the style of the characters there was one point that kind of annoyed me.  Syd has more scenes that she’s crying at least a little than she has not crying.  Yes things are stressful and I’m sure a lot of what she’s going through was heavily traumatic – but it felt like a bit much after a while.

Overall I really enjoyed the combination of artwork and excellent story – they melded perfectly for me.  I’d recommend this for those that like story lines somewhat like Alphas, or like me still miss that show terribly.

 

This eGalley was provided free from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

 

6 thoughts on “They’re Not Like Us Graphic Novel Review

    • Because of some of the nature of the violence I don’t think it would work as well for a school library. I personally don’t mind the ‘darker’ content because it fit with the story but I wouldn’t classify it as ‘young adult’ material even if that age range might enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • There is sexual content as well which I hadn’t thought of before. Both the sexual and violent content is somewhat graphic without being ‘too much’ at least for me. I’d probably let my own teens read it (if I had them) but don’t think it’d work that well in a regular high school library.

        Like

Leave a Reply

