Review : Alive

AliveAlive (The Generations Trilogy #1)

by Scott Sigler

Goodreads Synopsis:

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

Right from the first pages this felt like a roller coaster and not just any regular amusement park ride.  Most of the trip is in one of those tubes so you don’t know where you are going until the very end when you exit.  Suddenly you realize you are at the top of hill and the plummet is arriving.  Perfect description of how I felt going through the pages of this story.  I felt confused, lost – both emotions helped me connect even more to the characters because it’s exactly how they felt.  What I really enjoyed was how unique this plot was for me.  It didn’t remind me very closely of anything else so I was able to enjoy it without the automatic comparing.  Also, while this is written for young adults it contains some mature topics.  I really appreciate books that are meant for a younger crowd but aren’t softened or ‘fluffed’ for the same audience.  I wouldn’t recommend this for every teen because it does contain some fairly intense and even graphic themes including death and violence.  It also contains themes like diversity and leadership.  And with that I leave you with my reactions through the book depicted by Johnny Depp.

jack_sparrow

I’ve no clue whats going on.

jack-captain-jack-sparrow-32570252-1920-800

Still not sure what’s going on but now I really need to know.

Jack-Sparrow-pirates-of-the-caribbean-33979459-500-200

I think I get it and I’m freaking out.

OSTJackfirstsaysBlackbeard

I get it now and the feels are intense.

IMG_0550

Good luck future readers, this is a wild ride.

This eGalley was provided free from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

 

Leave a Reply

